AddThis SmartLayers

KM Group

  • Head Office: Messenger House, New Hythe Lane, Larkfield, Aylesford, Kent, ME20 6SG
  • Website:

Formerly the Kent Messenger Group, the company was formed in 1859 and has been in the hands of the Boorman family since 1890.

The current chairman, Geraldine Allison, is the great-granddaughter of the founder, Barham Pratt Boorman.

It employs more than 400 staff and as well as publishing weekly newspapers and magazines it also runs websites, radio stations and other media-related businesses.

More information about the group is available at its website

What we have written about KM Group

How employees can 'own' the company

Page 1 of 2 Some firms do more than set out basic pay and conditions packages for their staff. A good pension or sought-after part of the country can entice top staff and then make sure that they stay. Two

Contenders line up as judges make their choices

The finalists for the Newspaper Society Weekly Newspaper Awards 2004 are: Editorial categories Aberdeen IndependentBangor & Anglesey MailBirkenhead NewsBristol ObserverCornish GuardianDunfermline PressEdgware & Mill Hill TimesEssex ChronicleHinckley TimesHunts PostIsle of Man CourierKent on SundayKentish Express (Ashford)Kentish Gazette (Canterbury)Manchester Metro NewsNorth

Award nomination for HTFP

Holdthefrontpage is among the nominees for the 2003 Newspaper Society New Media Awards. The nomination is another welcome boost to the website, which has already seen readership grow to almost 2m page views a month. Our news stories about the

Veteran reporter wins MBE

The oldest female working journalist in Kent has been awarded the MBE for her outstanding service to the community. Barbara Butcher (84) – who last year plunged 200ft in a charity bungee jump – has been reporting the news around

Ads accolade for Post

The Bristol Evening Post has been named Advertising Publishing Centre of the Year at the 2001 Newspaper Society Advertising Awards. Donna Newall, of the Wigan Reporter, won Advertising Sales Executive of the Year – a new category introduced for this