AddThis SmartLayers

Hyperlocal publications

Alongside the established local media, the past decade or so has seen a growing number of small, independently-owned publications emerging both in print and online which typically focus on small communities.

They have come to be known as ‘hyperlocals’ although some of them, such as the Local Voice Network in the Bristol area, have grown to take in a series of different titles across a wider geographical area.

Here is a list of current hyperlocal titles with links to their companion website or other online presence.  If you know of other titles that should be listed here please email editor@htfp.co.uk.

If the title of the publication appears as a hyperlink, the link will take you to a list of stories which we have published about that particular title

Publication Website
853 London 853 London
A Little Bit of Stone A Little Bit of Stone
AboutMyArea CH64 https://www.aboutmyarea.co.uk/Cheshire/Neston/CH64 
Alt Blackpool http://www.altblackpool.co.uk/ 
Bedford Independent https://www.bedfordindependent.co.uk/ 
Beverley Life https://www.facebook.com/BeverleyLife/ 
Birmingham Updates Birmingham Updates
Bitterne Park Bitterne Park
Blog Preston http://www.blogpreston.co.uk/ 
Bradley Stoke Journal Bradley Stoke Journal
Brentford TW8 Brentford TW8
Brighton and Hove News Brighton and Hove News
Bristol 24/7 https://www.bristol247.com/ 
Bristol Cable Bristol Cable
Brixton Blog and Bugle Brixton Blog and Bugle
Broughton Spurtle Broughton Spurtle
Bude and Beyond Bude and Beyond
Caerphilly Observer https://caerphilly.observer/ 
Canterbury Journal Canterbury Journal
Charlton Champion Charlton Champion
Cornish Stuff https://cornishstuff.com/ 
Cornwall Reports https://cornwallreports.co.uk/ 
Cranfield & Marston Vale Chronicle https://cranfieldandmarstonvale.co.uk/  
Deeside.com Deeside.com
Derby News Derby News
Down News Down News
Driffield & Wolds Weekly http://woldsweekly.co.uk/ 
Dulwich Diverter http://dulwichdiverter.tumblr.com/ 
East Devon News East Devon News
Eastbourne Voice Eastbourne Voice
Eastendenquirer.org (previously Love Wapping) Eastendenquirer.org
Eastleigh News Eastleigh News
Edinburgh Reporter Edinburgh Reporter
Enfield Dispatch Enfield Dispatch
Exeter Observer Exeter Observer
Gedling Eye Gedling Eye
Gosport Globe Gosport Globe
Grange Now https://nowmags.co.uk/grange-now/ 
Guildford Dragon News Guildford Dragon News
Hackney Citizen https://www.hackneycitizen.co.uk/
Hartlepool Life https://www.hartlepoollife.co.uk/ 
Hastings Independent Hastings Independent
Hawick Paper https://thehawickpaper.co.uk/ 
Ilminster Press http://www.ilminsterpress.co.uk/ 
Inksplott Inksplott
Inside Croydon https://insidecroydon.com/ 
Island Echo Island echo
Isle of Thanet News https://theisleofthanetnews.com/ 
Isle of Wight Observer https://iwobserver.co.uk/ 
Kendal Now https://nowmags.co.uk/kendal-now/ 
Lang Toon Times Lang Toon Times
Lewisham Ledger Lewisham Ledger
Lichfield Live Lichfield Live
Llanelli Online Llanelli Online
Local Voice Network (Bristol area) https://www.filtonvoice.co.uk/ 
Loch of Shining Waters Loch of Shining Waters
Lochside Press Lochside Press
London Se1 London Se1
LymeOnline http://lyme-online.co.uk/ 
Manchester Meteor Manchester Meteor
Midlothian View Midlothian View
My Newtown My Newtown
My Turriff My Turriff
My Welshpool http://www.mywelshpool.co.uk/ 
Nailed Belper https://nailed.community/ 
Nantwich News https://thenantwichnews.co.uk/category/news/ 
Newry.ie Newry.ie
Oggy Bloggy Ogwr Oggy Bloggy Ogwr
Peckham Peculiar http://peckhampeculiar.tumblr.com/ 
Pevensey Bay Life Pevensey Bay Life
Portswood Info Portswood Info
Richmondshire Today Richmondshire Today
Rochdale Online https://www.rochdaleonline.co.uk/ 
Salford Star http://www.salfordstar.com/ 
Scarborough Review Scarborough Review
Senedd Home| Senedd Home|
Shetland News https://www.shetnews.co.uk/ 
South Leeds Life https://southleedslife.com/ 
South Molton News South Molton News
Telford Live Telford Live
The Ambler The Ambler
The Ems The Ems
The Ferret The Ferret
The Lincolnite https://thelincolnite.co.uk/ 
The Moorlander http://themoorlander.co.uk/ 
The Paper for Honiton https://www.thepaperforhoniton.co.uk/ 
Thorne Times Thorne Times
Thurrock Independent https://www.thurrockindependent.com/ 
Times of Tunbridge Wells https://www.timeslocalnews.co.uk/ 
Tottenham Community Press Tottenham Community Press
Ulverston Now https://www.ulverstonnow.co.uk/ 
View Digital View Digital
Waltham Forest Echo Waltham Forest Echo
West Bridgford Wire https://westbridgfordwire.com/ 
West Leeds Dispatch https://westleedsdispatch.com/ 
Wiltshire 999s Wiltshire 999s
Wokingham Paper https://www.wokinghampaper.co.uk/ 
Worthing Journal http://worthingjournal.co.uk/ 
Wotton Times https://www.wottontimes.co.uk/
Wrexham.com http://www.wrexham.com/ 
Wythenshawe Reporter https://wythenshawereporter.wordpress.com/ 
Yeovil Press http://www.yeovilpress.co.uk/ 
York Mix York Mix
Your Harlow http://www.yourharlow.com/ 
Your Local Paper https://www.yourlocalpaper.co.uk/ 
Your Local Voice Your Local Voice
Your Thurrock Your Thurrock