AddThis SmartLayers

Contenders line up as judges make their choices

The finalists for the Newspaper Society Weekly Newspaper Awards 2004 are:

Editorial categories

Aberdeen Independent
Bangor & Anglesey Mail
Birkenhead News
Bristol Observer
Cornish Guardian
Dunfermline Press
Edgware & Mill Hill Times
Essex Chronicle
Hinckley Times
Hunts Post
Isle of Man Courier
Kent on Sunday
Kentish Express (Ashford)
Kentish Gazette (Canterbury)
Manchester Metro News
North Shropshire Chronicle
North Somerset Times
Northampton Herald & Post
Sutton Coldfield Observer
Tamworth Herald
Taunton Times
The Berwickshire News
The Chester Chronicle
The Extra (Glasgow & South East Wood)
The Extra (South & Eastwood Edition)
The Falkirk Herald
The Gazette & Herald, Ryedale
The Impartial Reporter
The Oxford Times
The Southern Reporter
The Westmorland Gazette
The Wokingham Times
Thurrock Gazette
Ulster Herald
Weston & Somerset Mercury
Whitby Gazette
Wiltshire & Gloucestershire Standard
Wiltshire Times
Jackie Main, Archant Regional (Norfolk)
Shailen Visram, Bromley & Bexley Extra (KM Group)


Andrew Jackson, Wakefield Express
Anna Mansell, Western Gazette
Ben Bentley, Sutton Coldfield Observer
Brian Lewis, Kentish Express
Charlotte Evans, Great Barr Observer / Sutton Coldfield Observer
Conrad Astley, Manchester Metro News
David Sanderson, The Gazette (Enfield)
Geoff White, Hornsey Journal Series
Hugh Christopher, Barnet & Potters Bar Times
Jamie McGinnes, Kent on Sunday
John Newton, Sutton Coldfield Observer
Katie Knass, Wakefield Express
Neil Clements, Kent on Sunday
Paul Collins, Lancaster Guardian
Richard Birch, Western Gazette


Alan Williamson, Lichfield Mercury
Douglas Hendry, Paisley Gazette Series
Jason Dawson, Slough & Windsor Observer
John Anyon, Gloucestershire Gazette
John Rifkin, Jewish Chronicle
Mark Cleveland, Yellow Advertiser (Basildon)
Martin Dalton, Yellow Advertiser (Basildon)
Nick Parford, Maidenhead Advertiser
Paul Heaps, South Liverpool Mersey Mart
Stephen Cobb, West Sussex County Times
Stephen Richards, Gloucestershire Gazette

Winners will be announced during a ceremony at the Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel, near Coventry, on November 17.

Back to the awards index

Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.
E-mail [email protected]