AddThis SmartLayers

Weekly returns to street level with move to new town centre office

A weekly newspaper has moved to a new town centre office on the site of a former pub.

The Newmarket Journal has left its Rookery House headquarters after 35 years for the premises on Wellington Street.

The move marks a return to street level for the Journal, which was previously based on the top floor of Rookery House.

The new premises, pictured below, were once part of the Fox and Goose pub, later renamed The Wellington, which closed in 1932.

Newmarket office

The Journal was one of 13 Johnston Press titles bought by Iliffe in a £17m deal, and the new owner has since adopted a strategy of moving the papers into new town centre offices.

Other titles to have undertaken such moves include the Lynn News, Haverhill Echo, Lincolnshire Free Press, Spalding Guardian and Grantham Journal.

Journal content editor Alison Hayes said: “Not since Mr Simpson produced the first Journal in 1872 have we been able to boast a street frontage.

“We are now delighted to be back where we belong and look forward to seeing old friends and new in Wellington Street.”

One comment

You can follow all replies to this entry through the comments feed.
  • December 9, 2019 at 12:38 pm

    It’s great to see an East Anglian publisher moving titles back to high footfall/ high street and town centre street level locations when another publisher in the region is moving their district offices to the backstreets or closing them altogether.
    Surely a true sign of Iliffes intent to engage and work with the communities they serve.

    Retreating is the first step to withdrawing so to raise their profile in this way reassures local readers they’re there for the long run.
    Good work and well done Iliffe and the Newmarket journal

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(10)