AddThis SmartLayers

Daily echoes last year’s tally as awards nominations revealed

Today's edition of the new look Liverpool EchoThe Liverpool Echo has received eight nominations for the second consecutive year at the O2 North West Media Awards.

The Trinity Mirror-owned daily leads the field among print nominees for the awards, with The Sentinel, Stoke, up for seven gongs and the Lancashire Evening Post in contention for four.

The Echo’s sister title the Sunday Echo is also nominated in the Weekly Newspaper of the Year category.

New nominees include the Cumberland and Westmorland Herald, Northwich Guardian, Macclesfield Express and Altrincham Today.

More than 360 individual entries were received for the awards, which will be presented at a ceremony at Chester Racecourse on 12 November.

Nicola Green, director of communications and reputation at O2 UK, said: “Congratulations to those who made the final line up, but also a huge thank you to everyone who entered this year’s competition.

“Selecting the shortlisted nominees this year was particularly difficult as the standards were so high.

“The presentation evening will be a celebration of some superb journalism and a reminder of how important the regional media is to local communities.”

The full shortlist is as follows:

Broadcast Presenter of the Year

Mick Coyle – Radio City
Vicky Warham – Wire FM
Lucy Meacock – ITV Granada Reports
Peggy Walker – BBC Radio Cumbria

Community Journalism Award

Neal Keeling – Manchester Evening News
The Sentinel, Stoke – Our Big Read
Michelle Livesey – Key 103
Sarah Rogers – ITV Granada Reports
Nicola Adam – Lancaster Guardian

Daily Newspaper of the Year

The Sentinel, Stoke
News & Star, Carlisle
Lancashire Evening Post
Liverpool Echo

Team of the Year (Broadcast)

ITV Granada Reports
Radio City
Juice FM
BBC North West Tonight

Team of the Year (Print)

Lancashire Evening Post
Mid Cheshire Guardian
Warrington Guardian
Carlisle Living

Feature Writer of the Year

Tom Belger – Liverpool Echo
Roger Lytollis – Cumberland News
Jenny Amphlett – The Sentinel, Stoke
David Prior – Altrincham Today

Free Distribution Newspaper

Champion Newspapers
St Helens Star
Wirral Globe

On-Line Media Award

Chester Chronicle
ITV Granada
North West Business Insider
Lancashire Telegraph
Juice FM

News Reporter of the Year

John Siddle – Liverpool Echo
Matt O’Donoghue – ITV Granada Reports
Clare Fallon – BBC Look North West
Samantha Yarwood – Daily Post

Images of the Year

Emma Boyd – Westmorland Gazette
Stuart Walker – Cumbrian Newspapers
Ian Cooper – Liverpool Echo
Ian Robinson – Lancashire Evening Post

Radio Journalist of the Year

Chris Chambers – Juice FM
Michelle Livesey – Key 103
Sarah Poole – Global Radio
Vicky Glover – 2BR & The Bee

Scoop of the Year

Clare Fallon – BBC North West Tonight
ITV Granada Reports
Claire Smyth – The Sentinel, Stoke
Adam Phillips – Rock FM

Specialist Publication of the Year

The Sentinel – Echoes of WW2/Salute to the Few
Cumbria Life – CN Magazines
The Sentinel, Stoke – Sir Stanley Matthews
Cumbrian Newspapers – Proud to be Cumbrian / 200 Anniversary

Best Website

Wirral Globe
Westmorland Gazette
Liverpool Echo
Warrington Guardian

Specialist Writer of the Year

Dave Blackhurst – The Sentinel, Stoke
John Siddle – Liverpool Echo
Aasma Day – Lancashire Evening Post
Michaela Robinson-Tate – Cumbria Life
Victoria Glover – 2 BR & The Bee

Sports Reporter of the Year – Broadcast

Mike Hall – ITV Granada Reports
Richard Askam – BBC North West Tonight
Ian Haslam – BBC North West Tonight
Chris Hall – ITV Granada Reports

Sports Reporter of the Year – Print

James Pearce – Liverpool Echo
Will Watt – Blackpool Gazette
Jon Colman – Cumberland News/News &Star
Suzanne Geldard – Lancashire Telegraph

Television Journalist of the Year

Adam McClean – ITV Granada Reports
Dan Hewitt – ITV Granada Reports
Matt O’Donoghue – ITV Granada Reports
Clare Fallon – BBC North West Tonight
Dave Guest – BBC North West Tonight

Weekly Journalist of the Year

Max Wieland – Tameside Reporter
Kenny Lomas – Northwich Guardian
Carmella De Lucia – Chester Chronicle
Emma Rigby – Wirral Globe

Weekly Newspaper of the Year

Cumberland and Westmorland Herald
Macclesfield Express
Sunday Echo
Cumberland News

Young Reporter of the Year

Dan Hewitt – ITV Granada Reports
Rhiannon Hilton – Crewe Chronicle
Josh Parry – Liverpool Echo
Matt Jones – Radio City
Natasha Carter – ITV Granada Reports

One comment

You can follow all replies to this entry through the comments feed.
  • September 11, 2015 at 7:52 am

    Well done Sam Yarwood – best of luck!

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(0)