AddThis SmartLayers

Echo scores eight for third year in a row as awards shortlist revealed

The Liverpool Echo has received eight nominations for the third year in a row at the O2 North West Media Awards.

The Echo’s nominations include two specifically for its coverage of the Hillsborough disaster inquests, in the On-Line Media and Specialist Publication of the Year categories.

Elsewhere, the Lancashire Evening Post has been shortlist seven times, while independent weekly the Tameside Reporter, which was revived after briefly ceasing publication in 2012, has been nominated in three categories.

Former Chester Chronicle editor Eric Langton and BBC Radio Lancashire journalist Steve Becker, who both died in recent months, are shortlisted for the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Liverpool Echo's Hillsborough coverage won two nominations

The Liverpool Echo’s Hillsborough coverage won two nominations

Nicola Green, Director of Communications and Reputation at O2 UK, said: “Congratulations to those who made the final line up, but also a huge thank you to everyone who entered this year’s competition.

“Selecting the shortlisted nominees this year was particularly difficult as the standards were so high.

“The presentation evening will be a celebration of some superb journalism and a reminder of how important the regional media is to local communities.”

Winners will be announced at a ceremony to be held at Chester Racecourse on 10 November.

The full shortlist is as follows:

Broadcast Presenter of the Year

Mick Coyle – Radio City
Mike Hall – Granada Reports
Lucy Meacock – Granada Reports

Community Journalism Award

Michelle Livesey – Key 103
Sarah Collins – 2BR
Westmorland Gazette

Daily Newspaper of the Year

Daily Post
News & Star
Liverpool Echo
Lancashire Evening Post

Team of the Year (Broadcast)

BBC Radio Cumbria
BBC Radio Merseyside
2 BR

Team of the Year (Print)

Lancashire Evening Post
Liverpool Echo
Crewe Chronicle

Feature Writer of the Year

Richard Ault – The Sentinel Stoke
Aasma Day – Lancashire Evening Post
Roger Lytollis – The Cumberland News

Free Distribution Newspaper

Midweek Visiter
Tarporley News
Southport Champion

On-Line Media Award

Liverpool Echo (What’s On)
Warrington Guardian
Liverpool Echo (Hillsborough)
Granada Reports

News Reporter of the Year (Print)

Phil Coleman – Cumberland News
Catherine Musgrove – Lancashire Evening Post
Aasma Day – Lancashire Evening Post
Todd Fitzgerald – Manchester Evening News

News Reporter of the Year (Broadcast)

Rob Smith – ITV Granada Reports
Ben Schofield – BBC North West Tonight / BBC Radio Merseyside
Matt O’Donoghue – ITV Granada Reports

Images of the Year

Darren Robinson – Oldham Chronicle
Ian Cooper – Liverpool Echo
Colin Lane – Trinity Mirror
Peter Byrne – Press Association

Radio Journalist of the Year

Michelle Livesey – Key 103
Adam Phillips – Radio City
Richard Stead – BBC Radio Manchester
Emma Thomas – BBC Radio Stoke

Scoop of the Year

Tom Davidson – Daily Post
Ben Schofield – BBC North West Tonight / BBC Radio Merseyside
Ken Bennett – Oldham Chronicle
Dale Haslam – Bolton News

Specialist Publication of the Year

The Sentinel – The Way We Were
All Together Now
Liverpool Echo – Hillsborough
Tameside Reporter – School Newspapers

Best Website

Liverpool Echo
North West Evening Mail
Lancashire Telegraph
Southport Visiter

Specialist Reporter

Aasma Day – Lancashire Evening Post
Joe Thomas – Liverpool Echo
Andy Gill – BBC North West Tonight
Stefanie Hall – Lancashire Evening Post

Sports Journalist

Mike Hall – ITV News Granada Reports
Chris Hall – ITV News Granada Reports
Jon Colman – News & Star
Dave Powell – Chester Chronicle

Television Journalist

Arif Ansari – BBC North West Tonight
Dan Hewitt – ITV News Granada Reports
Matt O’Donoghue – ITV News Granada Reports
Clare Fallon – BBC North West Tonight

Weekly Newspaper Reporter

Lee Wild – Tameside Reporter
Dale Haslam – The Bolton News
Oliver Clay – Runcorn Weekly News
Rachel Howarth – Knutsford & Northwich Guardians

Weekly Newspaper of the Year

Workington Times & Star
Tameside Reporter
Cumberland & Westmorland Herald
Cumberland News
Crewe Chronicle

Magazine of the Year

CN Magazines – Cumbria Life
Westmorland Gazette – Limited Edition
Oldham Chronicle – Oldham Business Edge
CN Magazines – Carlisle Living

Young Journalist

Sam Yarwood – Manchester Evening News
Todd Fitzgerald – Manchester Evening News
Sarah Hodgson – Daily Post
Josh Parry – Liverpool Echo
Jonathan Robinson – North West Evening Mail

O2 Stand Out Award

Tom Murphy – Westmorland Gazette
Bill Jacobs – Lancashire Telegraph
Dianne Gibbons – The Sentinel
Jim Sharpe – Southport Champion

O2 Lifetime Achievement Award

Eric Langton – Trinity Mirror
Steve Becker – BBC Radio Lancashire