AddThis SmartLayers

Last call for entries to the Regional Press Awards

Molly WilliamsJournalists have just three more days to enter this year’s Regional Press Awards with entries due to close on Monday.

Designed to celebrate the best of UK journalism during the calendar year 2019, the awards comprise of 38 categories covering daily and weekly newspapers, news websites and social media plartforms.

Jusging will take place during March with the shortlist to be announced in April 2020 ahead of the awards ceremony on Friday 5 June 2020 at the IET, Savoy Place, London.

Among the 38 categories is a national award first launched last year which celebrates good interviewing in the regional press.

The Cathryn Nicoll Award is aimed at journalists aged 18 to 25 working for a weekly or daily or local regional newspaper in the UK.

Entrants to the award, which comes with a £500 cash prize, must have “demonstrated great vibrancy and skill” in an interview piece they conducted during 2019.

The award was set up last year by the News Media Association in memory of former Croydon Advertiser news editor Cathryn Nicoll.

Molly Williams, of Sheffield daily The Star, was its inaugural winner.

Said Molly, pictured: “It was an amazing surprise to win the award, a really proud moment that I will cherish throughout my journalism career.

“It’s important to take a step back every now and then to recognise the hard work done in regional newsrooms every day. This event is a fabulous way to celebrate that and makes for a very inspiring day that also brings journalists together from across the country.

“As a young reporter who is in the early stages of her career it was a huge confidence boost to be a part of the awards and then to be the first winner of the Cathryn Nicoll Award was incredible.

“To anyone on the fence about entering, I’d say go for it. My editor encouraged me to take a chance and it was one of the best things I’ve done.”

Journalists have until Monday 2 March to submit their entries through the website of awards organiser the Society of Editors, and further details can be found here.

The full list of categories is as follows.

Young Journalist of the Year
Business and Finance Journalist of the Year
Specialist Writer/Impact Journalist of the Year
Feature Writer/ Long Form Journalist of the Year
Columnist of the Year Daily Papers
Columnist of the Year Weekly Papers
Sports Journalist of the Year – Daily Paper
Sports Journalist of the Year – Sunday/Weekly Paper*
Social Media Journalist of the Year
Reporting Communities Award
Weekly/ Sunday Reporter of the Year
Daily Reporter of the Year
Weekly/ Sunday Photographer of the Year
Daily Photographer of the Year
Designer of the Year – Newspaper
Designer of the Year – Magazine/ Supplement
Supplement of the Year
Magazine of the Year
Front Page of the Year – Weekly/ Sunday Paper
Front Page of the Year – Daily Paper
Scoop of the Year
Campaign of the Year Daily Paper
Campaign of the Year Weekly/Sunday Paper
Website of the Year
Social Media Team of the Year
Data Journalist of the Year
Digital Live News Reporter of the Year
Digital Live Sports Reporter of the Year
Digital Initiative of the Year
The Overall Digital Award
Innovation and Initiative of the Year
The Cathryn Nicoll Award
Journalists’ Charity Award for outstanding contribution to journalism
Paid for Weekly Newspaper of the Year (including Sunday Newspapers) above 50,0000 total monthly reach
Paid for Weekly Newspaper of the Year below 50,000 total monthly reach
Daily Newspaper of the Year above 400,000 total monthly reach
Daily Newspaper of the Year below 400,000 total monthly reach
Free Weekly Newspaper of the Year


You can follow all replies to this entry through the comments feed.
  • February 28, 2020 at 12:05 pm

    There are some hugely talented individuals working within the main regional publishers: journalists,ad creators, feature, editorial and magazine designers who go about their work quietly, professionally and efficiently,and unlike many others,never seek attention or praise, these are the ones who should be recognised with an award.
    I hope whoever’s in charge of these hard working employees puts them forward as too many department heads (in my experience ) avoid doing this for a variety of reasons, notably believing it takes attention away from themselves rather than seeing their staff are a reflection of how they run their teams.
    If you know of such staff I urge you to put them forward now, conscientious staff are a big asset but often go unrecognised and unrewarded .

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(11)
  • February 28, 2020 at 1:06 pm

    God knows how many categories but yet again nothing in the one area that is actually growing – hyperlocal. Pitiful.

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(9)