AddThis SmartLayers

Sister dailies dominate O2 regional press shortlist for second year

Two sister dailies have dominated the regional press nominations for the O2 Media Awards for Yorkshire and Humber for the second consecutive year.

The Yorkshire Post and Yorkshire Evening Post scored a total of 15 nominations between them, while the Hull Daily Mail received eight.

The YP and Daily Mail are joined on the shortlist for Best Newspaper (Daily) by the Huddersfield Daily Examiner, while the Goole Times & Selby Times, Bridlington Free Press, Whitby Gazette and Scarborough News will fight it out for the weekly category.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony held at Aspire, in Leeds city centre, on 28 September.

Aspire, in Leeds, where the awards will be held

Aspire, in Leeds, where the awards will be held

Nicola Green, director of corporate affairs at O2, said: “These awards grow from strength to strength both in terms of diversity and quality. The entries demonstrate how Yorkshire remains home to some fantastic media talent and is also producing the media stars of the future.

“The judges had a marathon task and had some very difficult decisions to select overall winners from a brilliant line-up of finalists. All of this year’s entries were strong and those who are nominated should feel extremely proud of their achievements.”

The full shortlist is as follows:

Image of the Year (Still photography)
Tony Johnson – Yorkshire Post
James Hardisty – Yorkshire Post
Jon Corken Grimsby Telegraph

Image of the Year (Moving pictures)
Joe Bilton – BBC Look North
Sophie Kitching – Hull Daily Mail
Michael Newton – ITV Calendar

Best Writer
Tony Earnshaw – Yorkshire Post
Roberta Mothersdale – The Dalesman
Helen Mead – Bradford Telegraph & Argus
Ian McMillan – The Dalesman
Kevin Shoesmith – Hull Daily Mail

Young Journalist
Ben Blosse – Hull Daily Mail
Kristian Johnson – Made In Leeds
Ali Fortescue – BBC Look North
Sam Jones – Whitby Gazette
Ben Bason – Hallam FM

Broadcast Presenter (Radio)
David Burns – BBC Radio Humberside
Toby Foster – BBC Radio Sheffield
Nick Ahad – BBC Radio Leeds
Andrew Edwards – BBC Radio Leeds

Broadcast Presenter (TV)
Amy Garcia – BBC Look North
Peter Levy – BBC Look North (East Yorkshire and Lincolnshire)
Owain Wyn Evans – BBC Look North
Kerry Maule – Made In Leeds

TV Journalist
Gaggan Sabherwal – BBC Look North
Mark Kielesz-Levine – Made in Leeds
Caroline Bilton – BBC Look North (East Yorkshire & Lincolnshire)
James Vincent – BBC Look North

Best Team
Global Radio
Made in Leeds
ITV Calendar (KOS)
BBC Impact Team
Yorkshire Post investigations team

News Reporter (Print)
Kevin Shoesmith – Hull Daily Mail
Rob Parsons – Yorkshire Post
Ruby Kitchen – Yorkshire Evening Post
Rob Waugh – Yorkshire Post

News Reporter (Broadcast)
Gaggan Sabherwal – BBC Look North
David Rhodes – BBC Yorkshire
James Webster – ITV Calendar
Katy Austin – BBC Look North (East Yorkshire & Lincolnshire)

Most Memorable (Print)
Kevin Shoesmith – Hull Daily Mail (Do I look like a terrorist?)
Yorkshire Evening Post (Jo Cox murder)
Rob Parsons – Yorkshire Post (Battle of Orgreave)

Most Memorable (Broadcast)
Jamie Coulson – BBC Look North (Living with dementia)
Caroline Bilton – BBC Inside Out (St Williams investigation)
BBC Look North (Sammy’ story)
BBC Radio Leeds (Period Poverty)

Community Journalism
Yorkshire Evening Post (Speak Your Mind)
BBC Radio Humberside (Dead Bod)
The Star, Sheffield (Pride in Our Schools)
Gaggan Sabherwal – BBC Look North

Radio Journalist
Jhangir Ahmed – BBC Radio Leeds
Rosanna Austin – Radio Aire
Tracy Gee – BBC Radio Leeds
Charlotte Rose – BBC Radio Sheffield

Best Newspaper (Daily)
Hull Daily Mail
Huddersfield Examiner
Yorkshire Post

Best Newspaper (Weekly)
Goole Times & Selby Times
Bridlington Free Press
Whitby Gazette
Scarborough News

Sports Journalist
Rob Staton – BBC Radio Sheffield
Danny Hall – The Star, Sheffield
Phil Hay – Yorkshire Evening Post
Dave Craven – Yorkshire Post

On-Line Journalism
BBC Look North (East Yorkshire & Lincolnshire)
Abigail Davies – BBC Radio York
Huddersfield Examiner
Hull Daily Mail
Graham Walker – Johnston Press

Community Publication
Bridlington Free Press
Just Beverley
The Dalesman – Down Your Way
The Gryphon

Best Magazine
Yorkshire Post – The Magazine
The Dalesman
Yorkshire Post – Country Week
Hull Daily Mail – The Journal

O2 Stand Out Award
Owain Wyn Evans – BBC Look North
Kerry Maule – Made In Leeds
Kofi Smiles – BBC Look North (East Yorkshire & Lincolnshire)

Best Programme (News & Factual) TV
BBC Yorkshire (Tornado, 100mph steam train)
True North (Mystery of the Man on the Moor)
BBC Yorkshire & Lincolnshire (City of Culture)

Best Programme (News & Factual) Radio
Global Radio Yorkshire (Man Down)
BBC Radio Sheffield – Steve Bailey (Eczema: More than skin deep)
BBC Radio Sheffield – Steve White (The Magic of John Sullivan)
BBC Radio Leeds – Jonny I’Anson (Bare Knuckle Boxing)
BBC Radio Sheffield – Tom Ingall (Women of Steel)

O2 Judges’ Media Award for Journalism
ITV Calendar
BBC Look North


You can follow all replies to this entry through the comments feed.
  • August 7, 2017 at 3:20 pm

    How about make it a nationwide competition, then see how the YP and YEP do!!

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(6)
  • August 7, 2017 at 5:13 pm

    There’s a notable lack of Newsquest titles and journalists in that shortlist.

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(6)