AddThis SmartLayers

North West media awards expand for 2014

Entries for the O2 Media Awards for the North West are now open with two new categories for weekly newspaper journalists.

For the first time, this year’s event will include prizes for Weekly Reporter of the Year and Weekly Sports Reporter of the Year.

There will also be an new award for the region’s best TV or Radio Presenter, bringing the total number of awards to 20.

The deadline for entries is September 11, 2014, with work published or broadcast between September 1, 2013 and August 16, 2014 eligible for the individual and team categories.

As in previous years the awards will remain free to enter and the winners will be announced at a ceremony on 13 November at the Imperial War Museum in Manchester.

Entry forms are available by contacting Rossiter Media on 01829 741371 or by e-mail request to

Paul James, acting head of Communications and Reputation at O2 UK, said the awards had never failed to highlight the tremendous examples of community journalism across the North West region.

He said:  “The introduction of additional categories not only reflects the popularity of the awards but charts the changing face of media organisations.

“However we never lose sight of what’s at the heart of this event – the impact regional and community journalism has on its local communities and that’s why we are making this year’s categories even more inclusive.”

The full list of categories is as follows:

•    Feature Writer of the Year
•    Sports Journalist of the Year
•    Photographer of the Year
•    Young Journalist of the Year
•    TV Broadcast Journalist of the Year
•    Radio Broadcast Journalist of the Year
•    News Reporter of the Year
•    Specialist Writer of the Year
•    Broadcast Presenter of the Year
•    Weekly Reporter of the Year
•    Weekly Sports Reporter of the Year
•    Scoop of the Year
•    Editorial Team of the Year
•    Emerging Talent Award
•    New Media Award
•    Community Journalism Award
•    Specialist Publication of the Year
•    Free Distribution Newspaper of the Year
•    Weekly Paid For Newspaper of the Year
•    Daily Newspaper of the Year


You can follow all replies to this entry through the comments feed.
  • July 16, 2014 at 9:13 am

    Cannot fathom why anyone would want to enter media wards in the current climate in print newspapers…the only winner is the publisher who will crow on about how great their papers are, whilst the entrant has to put up with low, if any, pay salary increases, longer hours,where i work morale is so low nobody wants to enter a media awards event, but are pressured by bosses…

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(0)
  • July 16, 2014 at 11:44 am

    With respect but I disagree with Gongoozled. Awards are a celebration of an industry that keeps making a difference in a very, very difficult climate. I always took huge pride when my young reporters won awards and they used it as a stepping stone to bigger jobs. Negativity only breeds negativity.

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(0)
  • July 16, 2014 at 1:23 pm

    If Gongoozled wants to see why hundreds of journalists from across the media industry enter the North West Media Awards (and the Yorkshire Media Awards) he needs to attend one of the ceremonies. Last year’s NW presentation evening at Liverpool Cathedral was inspiring, moving and truly memorable … a fitting celebration of the tremendous work of journalists in print, radio and TV. The awards remind everyone of the talent and abilities of those involved in the industry and demonstrate the impact journalists have in and on their communities. Come and see for yourself … and you’ll remember why you picked up that notebook in the first place!

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(0)