AddThis SmartLayers

Birmingham titles head Midlands awards shortlist

Trinity Mirror’s titles in Birmingham have chalked up the most nominations in the annual Midlands Media Awards shortlist published today.

Journalists across the East and West Midlands are competing to win prizes at the awards, which is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year.

Today’s shortlist shows BPM Media with 14 nominations, the Birmingham Mail with six, the Birmingham Post two and the Sunday Mercury seven.

The Mail, Post and Mercury are also among eight newspapers competing for the coveted Newspaper of the Year title along with the Worcester News, Coventry Telegraph, Derby Telegraph, Shropshire Star and Nottingham Post.

The awards are run by the Birmingham Press Club which has introduced two new categories for the 2011 ceremony – the Journalist of the Year and the Photograph of the Year.

This year’s ceremony takes place on 10 March at Edgbaston Cricket Ground, when the winners of 20 categories will be announced and presented with a cash prize and certificate.

Last year, regional dailies in the East Midlands beat their counterparts in the West as the Nottingham Post, Derby Telegraph and Leicester Mercury each picked up three awards.

The full shortlist is:

Magazine Of The Year

Paul Oliver, Midlands What’s On
Andy Coyne, Midlands Business Insider
Paul Oliver, Midlands Zone
Jane Sullivan, Warwickshire Life
Neil Thomas, Shropshire Magazine
Joanne Goodwin, Shropshire Life
Jeremy Lewis, Nottinghamshire Today
Jill Gallone, Derbyshire Magazine


Stephen Thirkill, Mansfield Chad
Martin Elliott, Staffordshire Life
Marc Reeves, The Business Desk
Tim Morriss, Mansfield Chad
Paul Bradley, Birmingham Mail
Malcolm Pheby, Nottingham Post
Anna Jeys, Birmingham Mail

Business Journalist

Marc Reeves, The Business Desk
Anna Blakaby, Birmingham Post
Robin Johnson, Derby Telegraph
Oliver Astley, Derby Telegraph
Duncan Tift, The Business Desk
Jon Griffin, Birmingham Mail


Jonathan Reilly, Northampton Herald
Katy Hallam, Hinckley Times
Jayne Garfitt, Nottingham Post
Ellie Hunter, Derbyshire Times
Michael Broomhead, Derbyshire Times
Rachel Butler, Derby Telegraph
Flora Drury, Worcester News
James Montgomery, Staffordshire Life


Stacey Foster, Beacon Radio
Dan Dawson, BRMB
Sarah Poole, Heart Fm
Steve Hermon, Beacon Radio
Tom Hourigan, Mercia
Arran Bee, Gem106
Joanne Writtle, BBC Midlands Today
Emma Reid, Heart Fm


Jasbir Authi, Badge Of Honor
Gary Phelps, Sutton Observer – Buy A Bed
Lynette Pinchess, Nottingham Post – Maggie’s Centre
Tina Junday, Coventry Telegraph
Ellen Beardmore, Derbyshire Times
Ellen Hunter, Derbyshire Times
Andrew Richardson, Shropshire Star
Matthew Baggot, Coventry Telegraph


Matthew Rumble, Uni Worcester
Jenny Louise Taylor, Uni Worcester
Rob Adcock, BCU
Robert Trigg, Staffordshire Uni
Daniel Milligan, Staffordshire Uni
Ben Lowe, Staffordshire Uni
Natalie Eccleshall, BCU
Stuart Hodge, Staffordshire Uni

Feature Writer

Matt Jarram, Loughborough Echo
James Conneil, Worcester News
Oonagh Robinson, Nottingham Post
Anna Brosnan, Northants Echo Chronicle
Zoe Chamberlain, Sunday Mercury
Graham Young, Birmingham Post Mail
Duncan Gibbons, Coventry Telegraph
Adam Wakelin, Leicester Mercury

Journalist Of The Year

Christina Savvas, Birmingham Mail
Jeanette Oldham, BPM
Warren Manger, Coventry Telegraph
Emma King, The Sentinel
Lara Simpson, Coventry Telegraph
Emma Stowe, Coventry Telegraph
Mary Griffin, Coventry Telegraph
Claire Duffin, Derby Telegraph


Lorne Jackson, Sunday Mercury
Richard Mccomb, BPM
John James, BPM
David Paine, Worcester News
Neil White, Derby Telegraph
Pete Pheasant, Derby Telegraph
Joseph Watts, Nottingham Post
Mike Lockley, Sunday Mercury

Sports Journalist

Graham Smyth, Worksop Guardian
Andy Turner, Coventry Telegraph
Martin Crowson, Leicester Mercury
Steve Nicholson, Derby Telegraph
Marc Bazeley, Northampton Herald Post
Matthew Halfpenny, Nottingham Post
Brian Dick, BPM
Mat Kendrick, BPM


Mary Grifin, Coventry Telegraph
David Paine, Worcester News
James Savage, Worcester News
Mercia Newsteam, Mercia
Martin Croson, Leicester Mercury
Emma King, The Sentinel
Shaun Jepson, Derby Telegraph
Jeanette Oldham, BPM


News Desk, Sunday Mercury
Warren Manger, Coventry Telegraph
Graham Tebbutt, Northampton Chronicle
Graham Young, BPM
Rob Madill, Coventry Telegraph
Paul Cole, Sunday Mercury
Nick Harries, Sunday Mercury
Ben Hurst, BPM

Online Journalist

Faye Chambers, BBC Coventry
Tamlyn Jones, The Business Desk
Marc Reeves, The Business Desk
Will Oliphant, BPM
Zoe Kirk, Nottingham Post
Mikey Burrows, Beacon
Ross Hawkes, The Lichfield Blog
Ben Lowe, StaffsLive

Newspaper Of The Year

Worcester News, Kevin Ward
Coventry Telegraph, Darren Parkin
Derby Telegraph, Steve Hall
Shropshire Star, Sarah Jane Smith
Nottingham Post, Malcolm Pheby
Sunday Mercury, Paul Cole
Birmingham Mail, David Brookes
Birmingham Post, Alun Thorne

News Reporter Daily

Cara Simpson, Coventry Telegraph
Alison Dayani, Birmingham Mail
Nick Mccarthy, BPM
Claire Duffin, Derby Telegraph
Katherine Liptrot, Derby Telegraph
Brian Henesey, Nottingham Post
Jonny Greatrex, Sunday Mercury
Adam Aspinall, Sunday Mercury

News Reporter Weekly

Nick Brimacombe, Mansfield Chad
Katy Hallam, Hinckley Times
Ben Eccleston, Hinckley Times
Ed Stilliard, Hinckley Times
Matt Jarram, Loughbourgh Echo
Chris Breese, Mansfield Chad
Ellen Beardmore, Derbyshire Times
Charlotte Hester, North Shropshire Chronicle

Sports Photographer

Tim Harley Easthope, BPM
Dan Matthams, Nottingham Post
Chris De Bretton-Gordon, Leicester Mercury
Tim Thursfield, Express And Star
Jane Hilton, Mansfield Chad
Mike Sewell, Leicester Mercury
Jemma Cox, Nottingham Post
Matthew Harrison, Derby Telegraph

News Photographer

Dan Matthams, Nottingham Post
Darren Quinton, BPM
Chris De Bretton-Gordon, Leicester Mercury
Adam Fradgley, Exposure
Tim Thursfield, Express And Star
Owen Strudwik, Hinckley Times
James Balfour, Coventry Telegraph
Mike Sewell, Leicester Mercury

Trevor Roberts Photograph Of The Year

Jason Skarratt, BPM
Richard Harris, Express Star
Martin Elliott, Staffordshire Life
Adam Fradgley, Exposure
Joe Bailey, Coventry Telegraph
Tim Sturgess, Express And Star
Angela Ward, Mansfield Chad
Katherine Burnett, Derby Telegraph


You can follow all replies to this entry through the comments feed.
  • February 16, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    Best wishes everyone. I sincerely hope your entries are better than the list given here on HTFP, which contains numerous name spelling errors. Not a very good example for our profession…, I would suggest.

    Report this comment

    Like this comment(0)