AddThis SmartLayers

Departing editor and late colleague honoured at revived awards as daily scoops six

Noel DoranA regional daily scooped six prizes at a revived media awards while a retiring editor was honoured alongside his late colleague.

Belfast Telegraph journalists celebrated after taking home multiple honours at the Chartered Institute of Public Relations Media Awards for Northern Ireland, which have been brought back after an eight-year hiatus.

The Bel Tel won Media Outlet of the Year, Best Use of Social Media by a Media Organisation and Magazine or Supplement of the Year for its Weekend title.

Individual prizes were also claimed by business editor Margaret Canning, visuals editor Kevin Scott and Northern Ireland editor Sam McBride.

They won Business Journalist of the Year, Photographer or Videographer of the Year and Best Use of Social Media by a Journalist respectively.

The ceremony, held on Friday, also honoured the late Hugh Russell, the long-serving Irish News photographer who died last October, and his former editor Noel Doran, pictured, who will stand down next month after 25 years in charge of the Belfast-based daily.

They jointly received the CIPR Lifetime Achievement Award, while News journalist Cahair O’Kane was named Sports Journalist of the Year.

Among the other winners on the night were Stephen Moore from the Sunday World, who collected the Editorial Campaign of the Year award.

The Ulster Herald won the Media Outlet of the Year (Regional) award and Callum McGuigan, fromt the same newspaper, was named Student Journalist of the Year.

James McCarthy, from Belfast Live, won the Journalist of the Year Digital/Print award, while Jessica Campbell from the Impartial Reporter won the Journalist of the Year Regional award.

UTV won three team prizes – Media Outlet of the Year Broadcast, Broadcast Programme of the Year (News) and Broadcast Programme of the Year (Current Affairs) – while its journalists Jordan Moore and Gareth Wilkinson won the Newcomer Award and Broadcast Journalist of the Year respectively.

Niall McCracken from the BBC received the Best Piece of Journalism accolade, while the BBC’s Barra’s Return of the Wild won Broadcast Programme of the Year (Entertainment).

Bauer Media’s ‘Sealing the Deal’ won in the Best Podcast Episode of the Year category.