AddThis SmartLayers

Three new categories for 2024 Regional Press Awards


The Regional Press Awards for 2024 are now open for entries with three new categories on offer.

The awards, which cover work done over the past year, will be presented at a ceremony in London in April 2024.

Three new categories have been unveiled for the event – Opinion Writer of the Year, Crime & Investigation Reporter of the Year and Best Live Coverage.

There are 21 categories in all and fees start at £50 per entry.

For the second year running, the event is being organised by magazine publisher Haymarket which took over the management of the event from the Society of Editors in 2022.

HoldtheFrontPage is once again a partner in the awards and will be sponsoring the Front Page of the Year category.

Chairs of judges will be Alison Gow, who recently left Reach plc after serving in a variety of senior roles, and former Northern Echo editor Peter Sands.

The initial ‘early bird’ deadline for entries is 19th October, after which entry fees will increase with a final deadline of 23rd November.

Judging and shortlisting will take place over December with the shortlist to be published on 17th January.

The ceremony will be held at a still to be determined London venue in April 2024.

Click here to enter now and to download the entry kit click here.

The full list of categories is as follows:


Cathryn Nicholl Award
Crime & Investigation Reporter of the Year
Designer of the Year
Feature Writer of the Year
Opinion Writer of the Year
Photographer of the Year
Reporter of the Year (Daily)
Reporter of the Year (Weekly)
Specialist Journalist of the Year
Sports Journalist of the Year
Young Journalist of the Year


Best Live Coverage
Campaign of the Year
Digital Initiative of the Year
Front Page of the Year
News Website of the Year
Reporting Communities Award
Scoop of the Year
Supplement of the Year


News Brand of the Year (Small)
News Brand of the Year (Large)