AddThis SmartLayers

More than 30 local TV channels set to stay on air for another decade

John Whittingdale newMore than 30 local television channels are set to stay on air for at least 11 more years after receiving the green light from ministers.

The Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport wants to renew licences for the UK’s 34 local TV stations for another decade.

The plans would allow the media regulator Ofcom to renew the licences of all 34 local TV services, subject to a review of each station’s plans to continue meeting the needs of local audiences, which are currently due to expire in 2025.

The UK Government launched the nationwide network in 2013, with licence holders being required to show a number of hours of local programming each day.

Media Minister John Whittingdale, pictured, said: “Local TV stations from Belfast to Birmingham help to support local journalism, drive the creative economy and foster pride in communities.

“We want to see this continue, so we’ve set out plans for Ofcom to review all services to ensure they’re well positioned to continue serving local audiences with trusted and distinctive content for years to come.”

To coincide with the announcement, DCMS has launched a consultation asking for views on the current objectives licence holders are assessed against by Ofcom.

The list of currently operating stations is as follows:

KMTV – serving Kent
Latest TV – serving Brighton, Hove, Shoreham, Worthing and surrounding area
Birmingham TV – serving Birmingham, Walsall, Wolverhampton, Solihull and the Black Country
Bristol TV – serving Bristol
Leeds TV – serving Leeds
Liverpool TV – serving Liverpool, Merseyside and the surrounding area
Teesside TV – serving Middlesbrough
Tyne and Wear TV – serving Newcastle
Notts TV – serving Nottingham and the surrounding area
NVTV – serving Belfast
Sheffield Live – serving Sheffield
London Live – serving London
Cardiff TV – serving Cardiff
North Wales TV – serving Mold and surrounding areas
That’s TV Scotland – serving Glasgow, Edinburgh, Aberdeen, Ayr and Dundee

In addition, That’s TV has stations serving:

Humber (Hull and Grimsby)
North Yorkshire
Swansea Bay
Thames Valley