AddThis SmartLayers

Deadline for Regional Press Award entries extended by a week

The deadline for entries to this year’s Regional Press Awards has been extended by a week due to an “overwhelming reponse.”

Following numerous requests for extensions, organisers Haymarket have decided to offer an extra week for entries.

You now have until midnight on the 30th of November to submit your entries before the judges begin marking them.

The 2023 awards, which cover work done over the past 12 months, will be presented at a ceremony in London in April 2024.

Three new categories have been unveiled for the event – Opinion Writer of the Year, Crime & Investigation Reporter of the Year and Best Live Coverage – making 21 categories in all.

HoldtheFrontPage is again a partner in the awards and will be sponsoring the Front Page of the Year category.

Judging and shortlisting will take place over December with the shortlist to be published on 17th January.

Chairs of judges will be Alison Gow, who recently left Reach plc after serving in a variety of senior roles, and former Northern Echo editor Peter Sands.

Click here to enter now and download the entry kit click here.

The full list of categories is as follows:


Cathryn Nicholl Award
Crime & Investigation Reporter of the Year
Designer of the Year
Feature Writer of the Year
Opinion Writer of the Year
Photographer of the Year
Reporter of the Year (Daily)
Reporter of the Year (Weekly)
Specialist Journalist of the Year
Sports Journalist of the Year
Young Journalist of the Year


Best Live Coverage
Campaign of the Year
Digital Initiative of the Year
Front Page of the Year
News Website of the Year
Reporting Communities Award
Scoop of the Year
Supplement of the Year


News Brand of the Year (Small)
News Brand of the Year (Large)