AddThis SmartLayers

NCTJ honours students for performance in exams

Nick OwenTop-performing students have been honoured for their work after taking journalism qualification exams.

The National Council for the Training of Journalists presented 11 students with awards at its student council meeting, which was hosted by BBC Academy Birmingham on Friday.

The awards were presented to the top-performing students in the NCTJ diploma exams during the 2016-17 academic year.

Each winner received a certificate and a cheque for £250, with the prizes being presented by BBC Midlands Today presenter Nick Owen, pictured.

Addressing students, Nick said: “The NCTJ demands such a high standard from students and trainees because that’s what will be expected of you in this exciting and competitive industry.”

He added: “Passing the diploma exams is a great achievement, but to get the highest marks in the UK is exceptional.”

The full list of award winners is as follows:

The ITV News broadcast journalism award
Atif Rashid, City of Wolverhampton College

The Mark Allen Group business of magazines award
David McPhee, Glasgow Clyde College

The Facebook production journalism award
Zosia Eyres, Press Association Training London

The Society of Editors shorthand award (100 wpm)
Matthew Chandler, De Montfort University

The Sky Sports News shorthand award (120 wpm)
Isaac Johnson, University of Sheffield

The Archant award for essential journalism
Marta Emilia Bona, News Associates Manchester

The Archant videojournalism award
Alexander Miller, Leeds Trinity University

The Oxford University Press media law and regulation award
Jennifer Richards, Brighton Journalist Works

The Oxford University Press public affairs award
Louisa Chender, News Associates London

The Johnston Press media law: court reporting award
Anna Riley, Leeds Trinity University

The Premier League sports journalism award
Sean Walsh, University of Portsmouth