AddThis SmartLayers

Journalist who trained hundreds wins top NCTJ honour

A journalist who has trained hundreds of others over 14 years has been honoured for his outstanding contribution to journalism education.

David Holmes, of the University of Sheffield, was honoured with the chairman’s award at last night’s NCTJ Awards for Excellence.

David, picutred below after receiving the award, began his career on Sheffield’s Morning Telegraph and later went into broadcasting with the BBC.

He joined the university’s department of journalism studies in 2003 and led the NCTJ-accredited MA journalism course until July this year.

David Holmes

During the presentation at Hampton Court Palace, NCTJ chairman Kim Fletcher praised David as “dedicated, enthusiastic, patient and always willing to go the extra mile”.

It was a double celebration for Sheffield, which also scooped the best performing postgraduate higher education course prize.

Trainee journalist of the year was awarded to Laura Drysdale of the Wakefield Express, passing her senior NQJ exams earlier this year and the award for the best media law exam performance in the process.

All the winners from last night's awards

All the winners from last night’s awards

The sports journalism course at News Associates London has been named the best performing course overall, achieving an 88pc gold standard success rate.

The centre was also named as the best performing independent provider fast-track course.

The full list of winners and commendations is as follows:

Student news journalism
Winner – Aaron Renfree, University of Lincoln
Highly commended – Isaan Khan, University of Central Lancashire
Commended – Garrick Alder, Kingston University

Trainee news journalism
Winner – Neil Athey, Lancashire Telegraph
Highly commended – Samar Maguire, Cambridge News
Commended – Joe Middleton, Kent and Sussex Courier

Student sports journalism
Winner – Mats Fredrix, St Mary’s University
Highly commended – Jordan Campbell, Glasgow Caledonian University
Commended – Fiona Tomas, News Associates Manchester

Trainee sports journalism
Winner – Katie Falkingham, Sportsbeat
Highly commended – Nick Gullon, The Northern Echo
Commended – Matthew Smith, MailOnline

Student features award
Winner – Emma Calder, University of Lincoln
Highly Commended – Jessica David, University of Sheffield
Commended – Rowan Nevin, University of Portsmouth

Trainee features award
Winner – Will Hayward, Media Wales
Highly commended – Carly Minsky, Pageant Media
Commended – Aniesa Mirreh, South West News Service

Student top scoop/exclusive
Winner – Anna Whittaker, University of Sheffield
Highly commended – Jarrad Johnson, University of Lincoln
Commended – Keumars Afifi-Sabet, News Associates London

Trainee top scoop/exclusive
Winner – Thomas Mackintosh, BBC News
Highly commended – Caleb Spencer, Cambrian News
Commended – Samantha Booth, Croydon Advertiser

Student multimedia story/campaign of the year
Winner – Jason Lewis, Bournemouth University
Highly commended – Roshan Roberts-Crooks, Bournemouth University
Commended – Faith Ridler, University of Sheffield

Trainee multimedia story/campaign of the year
Winner – Bethany Lodge, The Gazette
Highly commended – Sian Elvin, Kent Live

Student project of the year
Winner – Echoes of Horror, Boglarka Kosztolanyi, University of Kent
Highly commended – The Forgotten Survivors, Luke Hastings, Bournemouth University
Commended – Dine magazine, Jack Portley, University of Central Lancashire

Apprentice of the year
Winner – Daniel Boswell, Sky Sports News
Commended – Safeeyah Kazi, Evening Standard
Commended – Rachel Matthews, The Telegraph
Commended – Kerry Parvin, BBC Radio Cumbria
Commended – Tristan Shale-Hester, Blackball Media

Student journalist of the year
Winner – Anna Schaverien, News Associates London
Commended – Mojo Abidi, University of Sheffield
Commended – Thomas George, News Associates Manchester
Commended – Christopher McKeon, Press Association Training London
Commended – Timothy Stickings, University of Sheffield
Commended – Jasmine Watkiss, Press Association Training Newcastle

Trainee journalist of the year
Winner – Laura Drysdale, Wakefield Express
Commended – Hannah Somerville, Oxford Mail
Commended – Abigail Weaving, Saffron Walden Reporter

Chairman’s Award
Winner – University of Sheffield

Best performing Higher Education Undergraduate course
Winner- Nottingham Trent University

Best performing Higher Education Postgraduate course
Winner – University of Sheffield

Best performing Independent Provider Fast-Track course
Winner – News Associates London

Best performing Further Education Fast-Track course
Winner – City of Liverpool College

Best performing Further Education Academic Year course
Winner – City of Wolverhampton College

Best performing course overall
Winner – News Associates London

Innovation of the year
Winner – Bournemouth University