AddThis SmartLayers

Daily Post takes top prize as best of Welsh media honoured

Dermot MThe best journalists in Wales have been honoured at an annual ceremony celebrating its media.

The Wales Media Awards 2017 saw prizes giving out across more than 20 categories – with the North Wales Daily Post scooping the Daily & Sunday Newspaper award.

It was a double celebration on the night for the Daily Post, with breaking news editor Sarah Hodgson named the year’s best Online News Reporter.

The Western Telegraph won the Weekly Newspaper accolade, while the News Website award went to Wales Online.

Print News Reporter was won by Gemma Parry, of the South Wales Evening Post, while the Flintshire Leader’s Owen Evans was named Young Journalist of the Year.

Sports Journalist was won by Chris Wathan, of Media Wales, and the Caerphilly Observer was named as the best Independent Community News Service.

The awards were presented by broadcaster Dermot Murnaghan, pictured above left.

The full list of winners is:

News Photographer
Gareth Everett, Huw Evans Picture Agency

Camera Operator
Dai Baker, ITN

Radio News & Current Affairs
Sunday Supplement, BBC Cymru Wales

TV News & Current Affairs
Living with Dementia: Chris’ Story, BBC Cymru Wales

Independent Community News Service
Caerphilly Observer

News Website
Wales Online

Weekly Newspaper
Western Telegraph

Daily & Sunday Newspaper
Daily Post

Student Journalist
Lonai-Ronahi-Hasan, University of South Wales

Young Journalist
Owen Evans, Flintshire Leader

Sports Journalist
Chris Wathan, Media Wales

Feature Writer
Steve Duffy, BBC Wales News Website

Business Journalist
Mark Blayney Stuart, Wales Business Insider

Political Journalist
Nick Servini, BBC Cymru Wales

Online News Reporter
Sarah Louise Hodgson, Daily Post

Radio News Reporter
Steffan Messenger, BBC Cymru Wales

TV News Reporter
Andy Davies, ITN/Channel 4

Print News Reporter
Gemma Parry, South Wales Evening Post

Rob Osborne, ITV Cymru Wales

Journalist of the Year 2017
Rob Osborne, ITV Cymru Wales

Outstanding Contribution
Vincent Kane