AddThis SmartLayers

More than 200 entries received for Midlands Media Awards

Suzanne VirdeeMore than 200 entries have been received for an annual awards scheme celebrating the best of journalism across the Midlands.

The judging panel has been announced for the Midlands Media Awards, and will be chaired by ITN newsreader Suzanne Virdee, left.

Suzanne, who started her career as a reporter with the Birmingham Post and Mail, heads a panel of experienced journalists and communications specialists who will scrutinise a shortlist of entries after an initial judging by a panel of 40 professionals.

Among those Joining Suzanne on the final judging panel will be Llewela Bailey, chairman of Birmingham Press Club, former Sports Journalist of the Year Martin Swain now director of communications at West Bromwich Albion FC, Dan Barton, head of corporate communications with West Midlands Police, Peter Brookes, senior lecturer in sports journalism at Staffordshire University, and Tony Adams, chairman of the Birmingham & Coventry branch of the National Union of Journalists.

Also joining them will be photographers John James and Marc Kirsten and Clive Reeves, managing director of Clive Reeves PR.

Press Club chairman Llewela Bailey said: “Suzanne is a very knowledgeable and talented journalist and she brings a further wealth of experience to the judging panel.”

The awards feature a total of 22 categories, ranging from Newspaper of the Year to Blogger of the Year.

Organised by the Press Club, the winners will be announced at a ceremony to be held at the Birmingham Repertory Theatre on 20 October.