AddThis SmartLayers

Post leads way as nominations announced for Yorkshire awards

YP manifesto 1The Yorkshire Post heads the race for this year’s O2 Media Awards for Yorkshire and The Humber after the shortlist was announced.

In the awards’ print categories the Post has eight shortlisted entries, while the Hull Daily Mail boasts seven finalists including two nominations each for health correspondent Allison Coggan and news reporter Kevin Shoesmith.

Among the weeklies the Harrogate Advertiser shines with three nominations, including best weekly newspaper.

More than 300 entries were received for the awards, which will be handed out at a ceremony at York Racecourse on 24 September.

Nicola Green, director of communications and reputation at O2 UK, said: “With record numbers of entries his year the panel found it even harder to select the shortlists.

“The presentation evening will be a celebration of some superb journalism and a reminder of how important the regional media is to local communities.”

The full shortlist is as follows:

Broadcast Presenter of the Year

Rony Robinson – BBC Radio Sheffield
Christine Talbot – ITV Calendar
David Burns – BBC Radio Humberside
Johnathan I’Anson – BBC Radio Leeds

Community Journalism Award

BBC Radio Humberside
Vicky Johnson – BBC Look North East Yorkshire
BBC Radio York

Daily Newspaper of the Year

Hull Daily Mail
Sheffield Star
Yorkshire Post

Team of the Year (Broadcast)

BBC Look North
ITV Calendar
BBC Radio Sheffield
Hallam FM

Team of the Year (Print)

Yorkshire Post
Little Vikings
Huddersfield Examiner
Goole Times and Selby Times

Feature Writer of the Year

Lauren Potts – BBC Yorkshire On-Line
Jamie Macaskill – Hull Daily Mail
Richard Beecham – Dewsbury Reporter
Ruby Kitchen – Harrogate Advertiser

On-Line Media Award

Yorkshire Business Insider
Huddersfield Examiner
Bradford Telegraph and Argus
York on a Fork

News Reporter of the Year

Emma Glasbey – BBC Look North
Kevin Shoesmith – Hull Daily Mail
Allison Coggan – Hull Daily Mail

Images of the Year

Anthony Chappel-Ross – The Press, York
James Hardisty – Yorkshire Post
David Poucher – Rotherham Advertiser
Simon Hulme – Yorkshire Post

Moving Images of the Year

Michael Newton – ITV Calendar
David Rimmington – BBC Look North East
Brian Punter-Mathews – BBC Look North

Radio Journalist of the Year

Laura Pennington – Hallam FM
Mick Lunney – BBC Radio Sheffield
Ella Griffith – Capital FM Yorkshire
Rosanna Austin – Radio Aire

Scoop of the Year

Emma Glasbey – BBC Look North
Kevin Shoesmith – Hull Daily Mail
Daragh Corcoran – BBC Radio Leeds

Specialist Publication of the Year

The Gryphon
Humber Street Sesh – Hull Daily Mail
Little Vikings
Yorkshire Cycling – Living Magazine
Rotherham Advertiser

Best Website

ITV Calendar
Sheffield Star
Huddersfield Daily Examiner
BBC Radio Leeds

Specialist Writer of the Year

Greg Wright – Yorkshire Post
Allison Coggan – Hull Daily Mail
James Vincent – BBC Look North
Hannah Woodhead – The Gryphon

Sports Reporter of the Year

Chris Dawkes – ITV Calendar
Matt Slater – BBC Look North
Tom Richmond – Yorkshire Post
Richard Sutcliffe – Yorkshire Post

Television Journalist of the Year

Paul Brand – ITV Calendar
James Vincent – BBC Look North
Kate Bradbrook – BBC Look North
Emma Glasbey – BBC Look North

Weekly Journalist of the Year

Lynsey Bradford – Barnsley Chronicle
Don Mort – Wakefield/Hemsworth & South Elmsall Express
Ruby Kitchen – Harrogate Advertiser

Weekly Newspaper of the Year

Harrogate Advertiser
Scunthorpe Telegraph
Scarborough News

Young Reporter of the Year

Jonathan Brown – Yorkshire Post
Ella Griffith – Capital FM Yorshire
Jack Gervetz – York Vision
Andy Seddon – Made In Leeds