AddThis SmartLayers

Hull daily heads Yorkshire media awards shortlist

The Hull Daily Mail heads the shortlist in the print categories in the O2 Media Awards for Yorkshire and the Humber.

The regional daily has seven nominations, while the Yorkshire Post has six and the Sheffield Star has five, and all three titles will compete to be named the best daily newspaper.

Bradford’s Telegraph and Argus is close behind with four places on the shortlist.

Last year’s paid-for weekly newspaper, the Rotherham Advertiser, will defend its crown for the title this year and is up against the Barnsley Chronicle, Whitby Gazette and Wakefield Express.

The BBC has the most shortlist places in total for the awards, with six places for regional TV news programme Look North including three for reporter Dan Johnson, and six further nominations from BBC radio stations in the region.

There have been almost 300 entries for the awards and winners will be announced at a ceremony on 5 September at Leeds Metropolitan University

In the weekly free newspaper category, the Leeds Student newspaper will be up against the Dearne Valley Weekender and Retford Guardian.

The awards will also recognise the work of media students with a prize for emerging talent and the finalists in this category will be named next month.

Nicola Green, director of communications and reputation at O2 UK, said: “It’s six years now since we launched the first awards. Entries this year, particularly in some of the new categories such as Specialist Publication and New Media, have been substantial which also shows how the regional media is evolving.

“The judging panels were hugely impressed by the quality and diversity of portfolios. There were so many excellent entries across all categories. It makes selecting the shortlist more difficult every year.”

The full shortlist is:

New Media Journalist of the Year

Graham Walker – Sheffield Star
Dave Doyle – Rotherham Advertiser
Stuart Goulden – One&Other York

Feature Writer of the Year

David Barnett – Bradford Telegraph & Argus
Phoebe Jackson-Edwards – Hull Daily Mail
Rod McPhee – Yorkshire Post
Martin Smith – Sheffield Star

Photographer of the Year

Frank Dwyer – The Press York
Stephen Garnett – Craven Herald
Andy Garbutt – Bradford Telegraph & Argus
Tony Johnson  – Yorkshire Post

Sports Journalist of the Year

Tom Richmond – Yorkshire Post
Richard Fidler – Sheffield Star
Chris Dawkes – ITV Yorkshire Calendar
Scott Wilson – Northern Echo

Specialist Publication of the Year

Northern Farmer
Bradford Telegraph and Argus (City at Wembley)
Singletrack Magazine
Yorkshire Post (Yorkshire County Cricket)

Radio Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Claire Warren – Radio Aire
James Vincent – BBC Radio Sheffield
Elly Fiorentini – BBC Radio York
Louise Jackson – BBC Radio Leeds

Television Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Dan Johnson – BBC Yorkshire Look North
Charlotte Leeming – BBC Yorkshire Look North
Duncan Wood – ITV Yorkshire Calendar

Young Journalist of the Year

Jim Coldwell – Hull Daily Mail
Jenna Thompson – Hull Daily Mail
Toby Higgins – Sheffield Star

News Reporter of the Year

Dan Johnson – BBC Yorkshire Look North
Kevin Shoesmith –  Hull Daily Mail
James Vincent – BBC Radio Sheffield
Rob Waugh – Yorkshire Post

Business Journalist of the Year

Paul Murphy – BBC Look North
Catherine Lea – Hull Daily Mail
Danni Hewson – BBC Look North

Scoop of the Year

Kevin Shoesmith, Hull Daily Mail – Paedophile ring exposed
Selina Maycock – Scunthorpe Telegraph – Let me wed before I die
Dan Johnson, BBC Look North / Inside Out – Police collusion during miners’ strike
David Hirst, ITV Yorkshire Calendar – Ripper’s backing for Savile
James Vincent, BBC Radio Sheffield – Closure of Dom Valley Stadium

Editorial Team of the Year

Bradford Telegraph and Argus
Hemsworth and South Elmsall Express and Pontefract and Castleford Express
BBC Radio Sheffield

Weekly Free Newspaper of the Year

Leeds Student Newspaper
Dearne Valley Weekender
Retford Guardian

Weekly Paid For Newspaper of the Year

Barnsley Chronicle
Whitby Gazette
Wakefield Express
Rotherham Advertiser

Daily Newspaper of the Year

Yorkshire Post
Sheffield Star
Hull Daily Mail