AddThis SmartLayers

Dacre elected as chair of Local TV group

A group of organisations that won licences to broadcast Local TV channels in the UK have formed a new association with former ITV editor Nigel Dacre as chairman.

Ofcom hs so far awarded 19 Local TV licences covering Belfast, Birmingham, Brighton & Hove, Bristol, Cardiff, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Grimsby, Leeds, Liverpool, London, Manchester, Newcastle, Norwich, Nottingham, Oxford, Preston, Sheffield and Southampton.

Nigel, pictured, is a director of Notts TV, the consortium which has won the licence for Nottingham. He is also a director of Local Digital News, and chief executive of Inclusive Digital. 

Said Nigel: “It is a great honour to be elected as the Local TV Association’s first Chair. There’s a lot of work to do in sorting out how the Association will work, overseeing the selection of a national sales agency and other suppliers, and liaising with Ofcom and the newly appointed infrastructure company Comux.”