AddThis SmartLayers

Coventry daily leads way in race for Midlands awards

The Coventry Telegraph is leading the way in the race for prizes at next month’s Midlands Media awards with no fewer than ten nominations.

Today’s shortlist sees Telegraph political editor and 2012 double award-winner Les Reid nominated in four categories – journalist of the year, business journalist of the year, daily news reporter of the year and scoop of the year.

However the paper itself is not among the contenders for newspaper of the year, which sees weekly titles dominating the shortlist.

Telford-based daily the Shropshire Star is up against dailies-turned-weeklies the Lincolnshire Echo, Northampton Chronicle and Echo and Birmingham Post together with the Tamworth Herald and Sunday Mercury.

Sky News managing editor Peter Lowe, who chaired the judging panel, said: “There was excellent work in all types of media and disciplines.

“But we were particularly struck by the way in which local newspapers – among the most hard-pressed institutions in the ever-changing media landscape – are still delivering sharp and original journalism for the benefit of their readers.  Long may it continue!”

The awards are being sponsored by Birmingham Airport, with further support from Barclays Bank, Birmingham City University, Bournville College, East Midlands Airport and Drayton Manor Theme Park.

Winners will be revealed at a presentation evening at The Holte Suite, Villa Park, on 13 June. The full list of nominations is as follows:

Business Journalist of the Year
Graeme Brown, Birmingham Post
Jon Griffin, BPM Media
Kurt Jacobs, Insider
Les Reid, Coventry Telegraph
Duncan Tift, The Business Desk

Campaign of the Year
Birmingham Mail & Sunday Mercury, Mike Lockley – The Fight for Cystic Fibrosis sufferers at Heartland Hospital
Birmingham Post, Birmingham’s Hidden Gems, Graeme Brown
Coventry Telegraph, Coventry Telegraph Surgery SOS Campaign, Warren Manger
Lincolnshire Echo, Save Lincoln Prison, Melanie West
Walsall Advertiser, A Card For Our Golden Girl, Charlotte Hart

Columnist of the Year
Tom Edwards, Worcester News
Paul Fulford, Birmingham Mail
Jon Griffin BPM Media
Kurt Jacobs, Insider
Victoria Martindale, Derby Telegraph

Feature Writer of the Year
Karen Bowerman, Herefordshire Life
Zoe Chamberlain, BPM Media
Jayne Garfitt, Nottingham Post
Justine Halifax, Birmingham Mail
Jeanette Oldham, Birmingham Mail
Cara Simpson, Coventry Telegraph

Headline of the Year
David Briggs, Express & Star, Ding Dong Merry Hill on high
Paul Cole, Sunday Mercury, All I Need Is Three Kings!
Richard Jackson, BPM Media, Fruitbowl’s coming home/ We shall fight them on the breeches/ Sin when you’re winning
Gary Phelps, Central Independent News and Media, Swamped
Sally Walmsley, Express & Star, Beauty in eye of beer-holder

Journalist of the Year
Peter Bearne, ITV News – Central
Dominic Howell, Nottingham Post
Mike Lockley, Sunday Mercury
Jeanette Oldham, Birmingham Mail
Les Reid, Coventry Telegraph
Peter Warzynski, Leicester Mercury

Magazine or Supplement of the Year
Aspirational Magazine, Colin Herd
Birmingham Living, Jonathan Carter
City (Soar Media), Chris Mortley
Nottingham Post Weekend, Riah Matthews
Taste the Seasons, Andy Darlington

Public Choice
The Birmingham
Erewash Sound
Express & Star
Free Radio
Scene Birmingham
Takeover Radio

Newcomer / Student of the Year
Elise Chamberlain, Central Independent News and Media
Paul Creeney, Staffordshire University
Charlotte Cross, Staffordshire University
Adreen Hart-Rule, Staffordshire University
Noel Phillips, Staffordshire University
Harriet Robinson, Trinity Mirror/ The Hinckley Times
Hannah Stokes, ITV News – Central

Newspaper of the Year
Birmingham Post, Graeme Brown
Lincolnshire Echo, Melanie West
Northampton Chronicle & Echo, David Summers
Shropshire Star, David Burrows
Sunday Mercury, Paul Cole
Tamworth Herald, Gary Phelps

News Photographer of the Year
Anna Draper, Lincolnshire Echo
Adam Fradgley, Leicester Mercury
Chris Gordon, Leicester Mercury
Richard Harris, Express & Star
Tim Thursfield, Express & Star

News Photo of the Year
Tim Easthope, The Factory Explosion, BPM Media
Chris Gordon, Leicester’s Last Deep Mine, Leicester Mercury
Richard Harris, The Carvers Fire, Express & Star
Tim Thursfield, The Olympic Torch at Severn Valley Railway, Express & Star

News Reporter of the Year (Daily)
Sam Dimmer, Coventry Telegraph
Jonny Greatrex, Multimedia Journalist
Dominic Howell, Nottingham Post
Mike Lockley, Birmingham Mail & Sunday Mercury
Warren Manger, Coventry Telegraph
Les Reid, Coventry Telegraph

News Reporter of the Year (Weekly)
Bobby Bridge, Central Independent News and Media
Jonny Greatrex, Sunday Mercury
Katy Hallam, The Hinckley Times
Sam Morris, Lincolnshire Echo
Mark Williams, Lincolnshire Echo

News Website of the Year
BPM Media, Anna Jeys
The Business Desk, Andy Coyne
ITV News Central, Liz Hannam

Radio Journalist of the Year
Dan Dawson, Free Radio
Adrian Goldberg, BBC WM 95.6
Steve Hermon, Free Radio
Nick Jewers, 102 Touch FM
Anna Sills, 102 Touch FM

Scoop of the Year
Martin Bagot, Coventry Telegraph, Grieving squaddies being turned away from Coventry bar sparks internet storm
Peter Bearne, ITV News Central, Burton Joyce Primary School
Warren Manger, Coventry Telegraph, Op Snub Hands Barbara A Death Sentence; You Have Saved My Life; Telegraph Saved Our Lives
Nick McCarthy, Birmingham Mail, Villa Brawl & Cop That
Jeanette Oldham, Birmingham Mail, Foreign Nationals
Les Reid, Coventry Telegraph, Vincent McKee Investigation

Sports Journalist of the Year
Steve Carley, Worcester News
Steve Clamp, ITV News Central
Leigh Curtis, Lincolnshire Echo
Tom Guest, Worcester News
Steve Hermon, Free Radio

Sports Photographer of the Year
Adam Fradgley, Exposure Photography
Alex Hannam, Leicester Mercury
John Jenkins, Lincolnshire Echo
Dan Matthams, Nottingham Post
Mike Sewell, Leicester Mercury

Television Journalist of the Year
Peter Bearne, ITV News – Central
Joan Cummins, BBC Midlands Today
Mark Gough, ITV News – Central
John Hess, BBC East Midlands
Keith Wilkinson, ITV News – Central