AddThis SmartLayers

Judges announced for NCTJ excellence awards

A panel of leading national and regional journalists has been unveiled to judge this year’s Awards for Excellence organised by the National Council for the Training of Journalists.

The awards, now in their fifth year, are open to students and trainees on NCTJ-accredited courses and aim to highlight the best emerging talent within the industry.

The 2012 judging panel will include Jonathan Barry, picture editor, Worcester Evening News, Brien Beharrell, editorial director, Newbury Weekly News, Dave King, head of news, Sussex Newspapers, Steve Phillips, group picture editor, South Wales Evening Post and Joy Yates, editor, Hartlepool Mail, as well as journalists from the Sun, Daily Mail, Daily Mirror, Sunday Times and Sky News.

Entries can still be sent to the NCTJ before this Friday’s deadline. For further information visit