AddThis SmartLayers

Bristol daily is ‘best of the West’

The Bristol Evening Post emerged as the big winner in the 2011 EDF Energy South West Media Awards today with seven prizes.

This afternoon’s ceremony in Somerset, held in association with HoldtheFrontPage, saw the Northcliffe-owned daily crowned South West Daily Newspaper of the Year.

Post reporter Daniel Evans was named Print Journalist of the Year, while there were also wins in the business journalist, columnist, feature writer and community campaign categories.

Evening Post editor Mike Norton said: “I’m delighted for the team.  The paper is a real team effort and a lot of work goes into what we do.  All we’re trying to do is produce a paper that’s right for the fantastic city that is Bristol.”

The victorious Bristol entrants, from left: David Clensy, Chris Geiger, editor Mike Norton, Daniel Evans and Michael Ribbeck

Weekly newspapers of the year were the Cornish Guardian, in the paid-for category, and the Nailsea, Clevedon and Portishead Times in the free category.

Two of last year’s individual winners, Martin Hesp and Tom Bradshaw, retained their awards as environmental and sports journalists of the year respectively.

Each individual prize winner received a £100 cheque courtesy of EDF Energy.

The full list of winners was as follows:

Newcomer of the Year: Debbie McCrory, BBC Radio Cornwall

Environmental Journalist of the Year: Martin Hesp, Western Morning News

Business Journalist of the Year: Michael Ribbeck, Bristol Evening Post

News Photographer of the Year: Stuart Harrison, Swindon Advertiser

Sports Journalist of the Year: Tom Bradshaw, The Bath Chronicle

Feature Writer of the Year: David Clensy, Bristol Evening Post and Janet King, Western Morning News

Columnist of the Year: Chris Geiger, Bristol Evening Post

Designer of the Year: Joyce Matthews, Gloucestershire Media

Radio Journalist of the Year: Robin Markwell, BBC Radio Bristol

Television Journalist of the Year: Matthew Hill, BBC West

Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year: Laurence Reed lunchtime programme, BBC Radio Cornwall

Television News/Current Affairs Programme: The West Country Tonight, ITV West and Westcountry

Print Journalist of the Year (Daily): Daniel Evans,    Bristol Evening Post

Print Journalist of the Year (Weekly): Thomas Cock, Western Gazette

Website of the Year: Bristol 24-7

Community Campaign of the Year: ‘100 apprentices in 1oo days’ – Bristol Evening Post

Front Page of the Year: ‘Help us Grow’ – Bristol Evening Post

Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free): Nailsea, Clevedon & Portishead Times

Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for): Cornish Guardian

Daily Newspaper of the Year: Bristol Evening Post

All the winners from the awards ceremony in Somerset