AddThis SmartLayers

Winners gallery from 2010 South West Media Awards

The cream of South West journalism gathered at the Winter Gardens Pavilion in Weston-super-Mare yesterday as the 2010 EDF Energy South West Media Awards were handed out.

Each of the prizewinners received a commemorative trophy together while winners in the individual categories also received a cheque for £100 from EDF Energy.

Here you can see all the winners receiving their prizes from EDF’s managing director of existing nuclear, Dr Andy Spurr, and double paralympic swimming gold medallist Ellie Simmonds.

All pictures are by Nigel Bowles, of John Connnor Associates, who was also the photographic expert on the judging panel for the awards.

Daily Print Journalist of the Year: Carl Eve, Plymouth Herald (Award collected by news editor James Garnett)

What the judges said: “Carl was praised for a really good body of work. He covered the Vanessa George story from arrest to sentencing, staying ahead of the national pack, but his work to expose the failures that led to the escape of a dangerous sex offender really impressed the judges.”

Print Journalist of the Year (Weekly): Andy Woolfoot, Wilts and Gloucestershire Standard

What the judges said: “Andy impressed the judges by picking up two of his exclusives, including a grandad woken from a coma by news of his first grandchild, from parish newsletters. He also put in the leg-work to get the exclusive on a Euromillions story.”

Newcomers of the Year Stephen Hackwell, Gloucestershire Echo and Liz Webster, Bristol Evening Post

What the judges said: “There was great debate around this category and it was difficult to pick a final winner from this strong field of four. The judges eventually decided two newcomers deserved to take this prize.”

Daily Newspaper of the Year: Western Daily Press (Award collected by head of content Paul Burton)

What the judges said: “The paper was neat, tidy and felt very authoritative. A good daily read that covered all the bases.”

Weekly Newspaper of the Year: Sunday Independent

What the judges said: “A nice, local tabloid that was well put together. Its strong sports section gained particular praise.”

Front Page of the Year: Wells Journal for Harry Patch Commemorative Issue

What the judges said: “A poignant and beautiful design that was cleverly done.”

Website of the Year:

What the judges said: “The judges picked a website that they described as a good role model to others.”

Feature Writer of the Year: Lyn Barton, Western Morning News

What the judges said: “Her features were really interesting and contained read hearts and minds stuff, including a feature on work to help farmers stop fuelling the drugs trade.”

Designer of the Year: Craig Lyus, Swindon Advertiser

What the judges said: “Craig’s designs stood out as bright and engaging. The judges felt a lot of thought and effortt went into his pages and his headlines fitted well, They particularly liked his village cricket match spread.”

Columnist of the Year: Sarah Feeley, Bristol Evening Post

What the judges said: “Sarah’s columns tackled topical issues. The judges liked her writing and particularly praised her anecdotal style. Her writing was summarised as simply beautiful.”

News Photographers of the Year: Fran Stothard, Bristol News and Media and Steven Haywood, Western Morning News

What the judges said: “Steven’s work was singled out for being inventive, imaginative and technically very good. The judges said all of his pictures jumped out. Fran’s entry was also praised for its technical execution, along with the movement and animation captured.”

Sports Journalist of the Year: Tom Bradshaw, The Bath Chronicle

What the judges said: “Tom was praised for engaging his readers with his imaginative writing, including a feature on a new rugby signing’s religious beliefs.”

Business Journalist of the Year: James Cowling, Bristol Evening Post

What the judges said: “The judges commended his newsy treatment of solid business issues and said his stories were very readable.”

Community Campaign of the Year: Save the Open-Air Pool, Bristol Evening Post

What the judges said: “A model of how to run a campaign. It showed a lot of imagination and an astonishing amount of work.”

Environmental Journalist of the Year: Martin Hesp, Western Morning News (Award collected by news editor Steve Grant)

What the judges said: “Martin’s entry was praised for its tone and gentle writing style. The judges particularly liked the way he brought environmental messages into the readers’ minds in a subtle way.”

Television Journalist of the Year: Jonathan Gibson, ITV Westcountry

What the judges said: “The piece that really impressed the judges was his uncovering of a network of suspected fraudsters targeting motorists selling second hand cars, using his own car as bait. An outstanding example of foot-in-the-door journalism.”

Television News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year: Terror Trial, ITV West & Westcountry

What the judges said: “This was a really difficult entry to judge as all of the program
mes in our shortlist were worthy of merit. However the judges chose ITV’s coverage of the terror trial because of the challenges that had to be overcome in telling the story.”

Radio Journalist of the Year: Denis Nightingale, BBC Radio Cornwall

What the judges said: “Denis produced a special report on Cornwall continuing to send child migrants to Australia years after the practice was discredited. His work kept you hooked and really brought the issue home to listeners.”

Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year: Laurence Reed’s Lunchtime Programme, BBC Radio Cornwall

What the judges said: “A generous presenter who really connected with his audience. He was also held-up as a tough and robust interviewer.”