AddThis SmartLayers

Shortlist for East of England Media Awards unveiled

The shortlist for the EDF Energy East of England Media Awards 2010, held in association with HoldtheFrontPage, has been announced.

Judging for the awards took place last week and the list of contenders is published on this website for the first time today.

All those shortlisted, along with their guests, will be invited to a celebration presentation event, courtesy of EDF Energy where individual award winners will receive a £100 cheque, as well as a certificate and trophy.

The awards ceremony takes place at Trinity Park in Suffolk on Thursday 3 February.

Here is the shortlist:

Daily Print Journalist of the Year

Jon Austin, The Echo, Basildon
Chris Havergal, Cambridge News
Ben Kendall, Eastern Daily Press
Gina Marden, The Echo, Basildon
Emily Parsons, Colchester Gazette

Weekly Print Journalist of the Year

Martin Green, Essex Chronicle
Keeley Knowles, Bedfordshire on Sunday
Lui Straccia, Luton on Sunday

Newcomer of the Year

Christina Johnson, Luton on Sunday
Iain Johnson, The Brentwood Gazette
Matthew Reville, Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Sophie Scott, Luton On Sunday

Feature Writer of the Year

Alice Hutton, Cambridge News
Emma Palmer, The Echo, Basildon
Louise Mackensie, Basildon Echo / Colchester Gazette
Louise Martin, Cambridge News
Alice Ryan, Cambridge News

News Photographer of the Year

Nick Butcher, Archant Norfolk
Ben Davis, Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Simon Finlay, Archant Norfolk
Antony Kelly, Archant Norfolk
Georgina Mabee, Peterborough Evening Telegraph

Sports Journalist of the Year

Michael Bailey, Archant Norfolk
Donovon Blake, ITV Anglia
Chris Phillips, Southend Echo
Nicky Price, BBC Radio Norfolk
Kate Riley, BBC Look East

Environmental Journalist of the Year

Jon Austin, The Echo, Basildon
Matthew Stanton, Yellow Advertiser

Columnist of the Year

Stacia Briggs, Norwich Evening News
Hannah Dunleavy, Cambridge News
Ken Hurst, Eastern Daily Press
Paul Kirkley, Cambridge News

Designer of the Year

Hannah Dunleavy, Cambridge News
Daren Francis, Archant Norfolk
Andrew Ormiston, Cambridge News
Joe Ringer, Archant Norfolk

Radio Journalist of the Year

Nikki Fox, BBC Radio Norfolk
Richard Martin, BBC Radio Essex
Andrew Turner, BBC Radio Norfolk

Television Journalist of the Year

Sally Chidzoy, BBC TV East
Malcolm Robertson, ITV Anglia
Debbie Tubby, BBC Look East

Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year

BBC Radio Essex – The Ray Clark Breakfast Show
BBC Radio Norfolk –Nick Conrad
BBC Radio Suffolk – The Mark Murphy Breakfast Show

Television News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year

BBC Look East
BBC TV East – Corby: A Toxic Town
ITV Anglia – Anglia Tonight

Website of the Year

Community Campaign of the Year

BBC Essex – Men’s Health Week
Colchester Gazette – Treats for Troops
Evening Star – Save the Blue Cross
ITV Anglia – The Anglia Allotment
Norwich Evening News – End the Indignity

Front Page of the Year

Essex Chronicle – The gravy train
The Echo, Basildon – And the groom wore handcuffs
Evening Star – Ice Station Ipswich
Norwich Evening News -Defeated Clarke heads for exit
Peterborough Evening Telegraph – Never Again

Paid-for Weekly Newspaper of the Year

The Brentwood Gazette
Essex Chronicle
Great Yarmouth Mercury

Free Weekly Newspaper of the Year

Bedfordshire on Sunday
The Cambridge News and Crier
Essex Enquirer
The Hunts Post

Daily Newspaper of the Year

Eastern Daily Press
Ipswich Evening Star
Norwich Evening News