AddThis SmartLayers

Heralds lead way in Scottish Press Awards shortlist

Glasgow-based sister titles The Herald and Sunday Herald both feature heavily in the shortlist of the 31st annual Scottish Press Awards.

Run by the newly-formed Scottish Newspaper Society, The Herald has nine and the Sunday Herald eight nominations.

Scotland on Sunday is also well represented with ten nominations across six of the 19 award categories.

Candidates shortlisted for the weekly newspaper of the year are the Dumfries and Galloway Standard, Highland News, Falkirk Herald, Shetland Times and Southern Reporter.

The awards ceremony takes place at the Radisson SAS Hotel, in Glasgow, on 22 April.

For information about tickets visit

The awards for newspaper of the year and journalist of the year will be announced on the evening.

The full shortlist is:

Scoop of the Year

Lucy Adams, The Herald – Truth Never Dies
Jason Allardyce, Sunday Times Scotland – Revealed: Lockerbie Link to Oil
Keith Jackson, Daily Record – World Cup Chaos
Victoria Raimes, Edinburgh Evening News – Pensioner Lies Dead in Flat for Five Years
Donna Watson, Daily Record – Honeymoon Scots Catch Swine Flu in Mexico

Reporter of the Year

Lucy Adams, The Herald
Lynn Davidson, The Daily Record
Mark Richard Macaskill, Sunday Times Scotland
Marcello Mega, Scottish Mail on Sunday
Marion Scott, Sunday Mail

Financial/Business Journalist of the Year

Lesley Campbell, Daily Record
Kenny Kemp, Sunday Herald
Ian McConell, The Herald
Steven Vass, Sunday Herald
Mark Williamson, The Herald

Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year

Matt Bendoris, The Scottish Sun
Jonathan Brocklebank, Scottish Daily Mail
Jasper Hamill, Sunday Herald
Iain Macwhirter, Sunday Herald
Peter Ross, Scotland on Sunday

Magazine Writer of the Year

Billy Briggs, Freelance
Catherine Deveney, Scotland on Sunday
Teddy Jamieson, The Herald
David Pratt, The Herald
Peter Ross, Scotland on Sunday

Columnist of the Year

Ian Bell, Sunday Herald
Tom English, Scotland on Sunday
Kenny Farquharson, Scotland on Sunday
Bill Leckie, The Scottish Sun
Reg McKay, Daily Record

Campaign of the Year

Greenock Telegraph, Knife Campaign Battle
Herald & Times Group, Ripped Off Glasgow
Scottish Daily Mail, An Affront to British Justice
Sunday Mail, The Alarm Shark
The Scottish Sun, Grow a ‘Tash…Save a Life

Front Page of the Year

Edinburgh Evening News, Poppycock
Evening Express, 12.30am and the Last Victims of 85N Come Home
Scottish Daily Mail, For my Daddy, The Hero
Scottish Mail on Sunday, Bomber in his Family’s Arms
The Falkirk Herald, Touch Ane Touch A’

Journalist Team of the Year

Edinburgh Evening News, Tram Wars
Evening Express, North Sea ‘Copter Tragedy
Scottish Daily Mail, A Family Bullied into Gay Adoption
Scottish Daily Mail, Disgust at Deal to Free Bomber
Sunday Herald, Scotland’s Leaders:We Want Public Probe into Failed Banks

Weekly Newspaper of the Year

Dumfries and Galloway Standard
Highland News
The Falkirk Herald
The Shetland Times
The Southern Reporter

Political Journalist of the Year

Jason Allardyce, Sunday Times Scotland
Eddie Barns, Scotsman Publications
Campbell Gunn, The Sunday Post
Paul Hutcheon, Sunday Herald
Andrew Nicoll, The Scottish Sun
Michael Tait, Scottish Mail on Sunday

Sports Feature Writer of the Year

Richard Bath, Scotland on Sunday
Bryan Cooney, Sunday Herald
Tom English, Scotland on Sunday
Paul Forsyth, Scotland on Sunday
Bill Leckie, The Scottish Sun
Brian Marjoribanks, Scottish Daily Mail
Stephen McGowan, Scottish Daily Mail

Sports News Writer of the Year

Robert Grieve, The Scottish Sun
Roger Hannah, The Scottish Sun
Keith Jackson, Daily Record
Peter Jardine, Scottish Daily Mail
Darrell King, Evening Times

Arts/Entertainment Journalist of the Year

Claire Black, Scotsman Publications
Allan Brown, Sunday Times Scotland
Anna Burnside, Sunday Times Scotland
Paul English, Daily Record
Phil Miller, The Herald
Aidan Smith, Scotland on Sunday

Cartoonist of the Year

Brian Adcock, Scotland on Sunday
Frank Boyle, Edinburgh Evening News
Steven Camley, The Herald
Bill McArthur, The Herald
Brian Petrie, The Scottish Sun

Young Journalist of the Year

Lisa Boyle, Ayrshire Post
Marc Deanie, The Scottish Sun
Julie Gilbert, Clydebank Post
Victoria Raimes, Edinburgh Evening News
Alice Wyllie, The Scotsman

News Photographer of the Year

Jane Barlow, The Scotsman
James Glossop, The Times
Colin Mearns, Herald & Times Group
Andrew Milligan, Scottish Press Association
Alan Simpson, Freelance

Sports Photographer of the Year

Rob Casey, Daily Record
James Gunn, John O’Groat Journal
David Henderson, The Scottish Sun
Tom Main, Freelance
Mark Runnacles, Daily Record

Multimedia Journalist of the Year

John Dingwall, Daily Record
Stephen Emerson, The Scotsman/
Magnus Gardham, Daily Record
Beverley Lyons, Daily Record
David Maddox, The Scotsman
Nick Mitchell, The Scotsman/