AddThis SmartLayers

Post and Echo correspondent takes Maritime Media Award

Liverpool Daily Post and Echo correspondent Peter Elson has become only the second journalist based outside London to win a Maritime Media Award for journalistic writing.

The prizes, which were handed out by Princess Anne in London on Wednesday, celebrate the best writing, journalism and broadcast work on maritime and naval issues.

Peter is the Post and Echo’s shipping correspondent and won The Desmond Wettern Media Award for best journalistic contribution.

Judges said: “A highly respected campaigning journalist who understands the significance of sea transport and naval operations to the United Kingdom and specifically to the Port of Liverpool.

“A regular contributor of well researched and eloquently written features which promote maritime awareness, and whose advice is sought on radio and television.

“A champion of maritime heritage and a reporter renowned for exclusive stories.”

Peter said: “I am thrilled to be only the second journalist outside London to receive the award. Everyone will be aware of Liverpool’s woes over the last 40 years.

“I feel my public role as a writer and broadcaster is to highlight the future potential of the city re-engaging with the sea, the very element that was its reason for being. The essence of Britain in fact.”

The other prizes winners were:

  • Donald Gosling Award for Best Television, Film or Radio Contribution

    Ross Kemp, In Search of Pirates

  • Desmond Wettern Fleet Award for Best Media Contribution from HM Ship, Submarine, Royal Naval Air Squadron or Royal Marine Unit

    HMS Illustrious

  • Mountbatten Maritime Award for Best Literary Contribution

    Alan Villiers – Voyager of the Winds, by Kate Lance

  • Maritime Fellowship Award for an Outstanding Life Time Contribution in a Particular Maritime Field

    Charles Clover, author of the End of The Line

  • The Maritime Media Awards were first held in 1995 and were presented in memory of Desmond Wettern, one of the most well-known and respected naval correspondents of the last century.

    Further details about the awards can be found on