AddThis SmartLayers

News leads way as awards shortlist unveiled

The Cambridge News leads the way in the list of nominations for the EDF Energy East of England Media Awards which are published for the first time here today.

The Iliffe News and Media-owned title chalked up 12 nominations across no fewer than ten categories, including one for the daily newspaper of the year title.

In addition, two of its reporters feature on the five-strong shortlist for best daily journalist.

The shortlist also sees the Norwich Evening News notch up six nominations while, among the weeklies, the Brentwood Gazette and Essex Chronicle each lead the way with five.

The awards ceremony takes place at the SAS Radisson Hotel, Stansted, on 21 January.

Scroll down to read the nominations:

Daily Print Journalist of the Year

Adam Aiken, Eastern Daily Press
Peter Walsh, Norwich Evening News/EDP
Stephen Exley, Cambridge News
Raymond Brown, Cambridge News
Jon Austin, Basildon Echo

Weekly Print Journalist of the Year

Lui Straccia, Luton and Dunstable Express
John Elworthy, Cambridgeshire Times/Wisbech Standard
Piers Meyler, Brentwood Gazette
Matthew Ward, Essex Chronicle

Newcomer of the Year

James Burton, Bishop Stortford Observer
Rob Garrett, Archant Norfolk
Sarah Calkin, Basildon Echo
Georgina Mabee, Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Michael Bailey, Archant Norfolk

Feature Writer of the Year

Emma Lee, EDP/Norwich Evening News
Alice Ryan, Cambridge News
Emma Higginbotham, Cambridge News
Alison Hayes, Newmarket Journal
Keiron Pim, Eastern Daily Press

Designer of the Year

Hannah Dunleavy, Cambridge News
Daren Francis, Archant Norfolk
Sherine Conyers, Cambridge News
Alex Leys, Essex Chronicle
Steve Bodycomb, Essex Chronicle/Brentwood Gazette

Columnist of the Year

Kevin Baldwin, My Football Writer
Stacia Briggs, Norwich Evening News
Martin Newell, East Anglian Daily Times
Mark Heath, EADT/Evening Star
Paul Kirkley, Cambridge News

News Photographer of the Year

Georgina Mabee, Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Alex Fairfull, Archant Suffolk
John O’Reilly, South Beds News Agency

Sports Journalist of the Year

Aaron Mason, Cambridge News
Chris Lakey, Eastern Daily Press
Nick Garnham, EADT/Evening Star

Business Journalist of the Year

Neil Bradford, ITV Anglia
Jenny Chapman, Cambridge News

Environmental Journalist of the Year

Tara Greaves, EDP/Norwich Evening News
Piers Meyler, Brentwood Gazette

Radio Journalist of the Year

Claire Gregory, KLFM
Kate Riley, BBC Radio Norfolk
Jon Wright, BBC Radio Suffolk
Paul Mosely, BBC Radio Norfolk
Nikki Fox, BBC Radio Norfolk

Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year

Nadine Simpson, BBC Three Counties Radio
Chris Goreham at Breakfast, BBC Radio Norfolk
Mark Murphy, BBC Radio Suffolk
Ray Clark, BBC Essex

TV Journalist of the Year

Nikki Jenkins, BBC Look East
Kevin Burch, BBC Look East
Debbie Tubby, BBC Look East
Sally Chidzoy, BBC Look East
Malcolm Robertson, ITV Anglia
Emma Baker, ITV Anglia

TV Programme of the Year

The Politics Show, BBC East
ITV Anglia
BBC Look East
Anglia Special Edition – ‘Remembering the Living’
Inside Out, BBC East

Community Campaign of the Year

Adam Lazzari, Cambridgeshire Times/Wisbech Standard
Dan Grimmer, Norwich Evening News
Paul Dent-Jones, Essex Chronicle
Paul Winspear, Bishop Stortford Observer

Front Page of the Year

Evening Star
Cambridge News
East Anglian Daily Times
Essex Chronicle
Brentwood Gazette

Website of the Year

Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for)

Essex Chronicle
Brentwood Gazette

Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free)

The Hunts Post
News and Crier Series
Beds on Sunday
Herts Advertiser

Daily Newspaper of the Year

Eastern Daily Press
Norwich Evening News
East Anglian Daily Times
Evening Star
Cambridge News