AddThis SmartLayers

EDF Energy East of England Media Awards open for entries

The race is on for media across the East of England to get their best work together for the EDF Energy East of England Media Awards 2008.

And this year’s event features Designer of the Year – a new category for the East of England celebrating the work of sub-editors.

Last year’s event saw more than 200 entries and more than 180 journalists attend the awards ceremony at Whipsnade Zoo – see the winners here.

Invitations are going out to journalists across the region to attract the very best work from regional newspapers, radio and television.

Entries have to be in by the end of Monday, December 8 – so check which categories you could enter. Entry forms will be available to download from HoldtheFrontPage next week.

The contest is free to enter, and cash prizes of £100 are being offered for individual winners, along with trophies and certificates.

All shortlisted nominees and their guests will be invited to an awards lunch at the end of January, courtesy of the sponsors, EDF Energy.

Claire Byrd, Head of Regional Media Relations for EDF Energy, said: “We are always very encouraged by the standard of work and the excitement generated by the awards event in this part of the world and we’re looking forward to seeing what will be put forward this year.

“It is a great opportunity for talented local journalists to be recognised and I hope that all print and broadcast media will seize the moment and give the judges a tough time in choosing the winners.”

There are 20 categories to enter, and newspaper staff can enter as many relevant categories as they wish, with no entry fee.

Categories for individuals include:

– Print Journalist of the Year (Daily)
– Print Journalist of the Year (Weekly)
– Radio Journalist of the Year
– Television Journalist of the Year
– Newcomer of the Year
– Feature Writer of the Year
– Designer of the Year
– News Photographer of the Year
– Sports Journalist of the Year
– Business Journalist of the Year
– Environmental Journalist of the Year
– Columnist of the Year

Categories for newspapers and broadcasting companies comprise:

– Daily Newspaper of the Year
– Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for)
– Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free)
– Front Page of the Year
– Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year
– Television News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year
– Website of the Year
– Community Campaign of the Year

The awards take in Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex, Cambridgeshire and parts of Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire. Entries must be received by 5pm on Friday 5 December 2008, and should be sent to:

Paul Linford
Northcliffe House
Meadow Road

Questions or queries about the awards or the event itself should be e-mailed to [email protected] or [email protected]