AddThis SmartLayers

Best of the north-west prepares for journalism celebration

The best in north-west journalism will be celebrated on Friday at the 17th North West Newspaper Awards.

Journalists, photographers, newspapers and websites will do battle for nine prizes with individual winners and runners-up taking home £700 and £150 cash prizes respectively.

The judging panel comprised Huddersfield Daily Examiner editor Roy Wright, Shrewsbury Chronicle editor John Butterworth and Richard Catlow from the North West Society of Editors.

All winners will be announced at a prize-giving lunch at sponsors Sellafield, in Cumbria.

The shortlisted nominees are:

Daily Newspaper of the Year
Bolton News
Liverpool Echo
Lancashire Evening Post

Weekly Newspaper of the Year
Cumberland News
Chester Chronicle
Tameside Advertiser

Daily Newspaper Website of the Year
Lancashire Evening Post
Liverpool Daily Post
Manchester Evening News

Weekly Newspaper Website of the Year
Westmorland Gazette
Warrington Guardian
St Helens Star

News Reporter of the Year
Neal Keeling, Manchester Evening News
Vanessa Cornall, Accrington Observer
David Higgerson, Liverpool Daily Post

Feature Writer of the Year
Paul Taylor, Manchester Evening News
Paddy Shennan, Liverpool Echo
Wesley Wright, Bolton News

Sports Reporter of the Year
Amanda Little, News and Star (Carlisle), Cumberland News
Tony Barrett, Liverpool Echo
Gordon Sharrock, Bolton News

Photographer of the Year
Martin Birchall, Liverpool Daily Post and Echo
Colin Lane, Liverpool Daily Post and Echo
Matt Ratcliffe, Stockport Express

Young Journalist of the Year
Stefanie Hall, Lancashire Evening Post
Nafeesa Shan, Lancashire Telegraph
Sally Henfield, Lancashire Telegraph