AddThis SmartLayers

All the winners' photos from the EDF Energy Awards

The cream of the media from across the capital and the South of England gathered at London Zoo yesterday for the EDF Energy Media Awards, held in association with HoldtheFrontPage.

Presenting the prize winners with their trophies and cheques was Olympic runner Donna Fraser and Peter Hofman, EDF Energy’s sustainable future director.

  • Daily Newspaper of the Year – The Argus, Brighton

  • Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Paid-for) – Surrey Mirror

  • Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Free) – Crawley News

  • Journalist of the Year (Daily) – Matt Jackson, The News, Portsmouth

  • Journalist of the Year (Weeky) – Nev Wilson, Surrey Mirror

  • Newcomer of the Year – Nev Wilson, Surrey Mirror

  • Environmental Journalist of the Year – Malcolm Shaw, ITV Meridian

  • Business Journalist of the Year – Gareth Lewis, Southern Daily Echo, Southampton

  • News Photographer of the Year – Stuart Emmerson, Harrow Observer

  • Sports Journalist of the Year – Simon Osborn, Surrey Mirror

  • Feature Writer of the Year – Simon Toft, The News, Portsmouth

  • Columnist of the Year – Neil Butterworth, Daily Echo, Bournemouth

  • Designer of the Year – Alan Cooper, The News, Portsmouth

  • Radio Journalist of the Year – Ed Cook, BBC Radio Kent

  • Television Journalist of the Year – Jon Hunt, BBC South East Today

  • Radio News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year – John Warnett Breakfast Show BBC Radio Kent

  • Television News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year – ITV Thames Valley, Heathrow Terminal 5

  • Community Campaign of the Year – ‘Parking Mad’, Daily Echo, Bournemouth

  • Website of the Year –

  • Front Page of the Year – ‘Pompey Expects’ The News, Portsmouth

  • All the winners from the EDF Energy London and South of England Media Awards 2008
  • Photographs courtesy of Connors, Brighton