AddThis SmartLayers

Successful NCE candidates – Spring 2006

The National Certificate has been awarded to 129 candidates – 47 per cent of all those who sat the examination in April.

Prizes were also give out to candidates for the best performance in each of the four exam sections.

Tom Stirling from The Press in York completed the best logbook and got top marks in the news report exam, while Emma Wall from the Ross Parry News Agency in Leeds came top in the interview exam.

Andrew Morrison from the Crewe Guardian received the prize for the best performance in the newspaper practice exam.

The following candidates, listed under the centre at which they sat the examination, have now gained the National Certificate:


Anna Bailey, Basingstoke Gazette
Sion Donovan, The News, Portsmouth
Jennifer Haworth, The News, Portsmouth
Alexander Kalinik, Basingstoke Gazette
Kate Morrison, The Argus
Vicky O’Hare, Basingstoke Gazette
Satwant Pandher, Gatwick & Horley Life
Clare Wall, Isle of Wight County Press
Murray Wardrop, Basingstoke Gazette


Jack Hunter, Weston & Somerset Mercury
Elizabeth Perkins, South Wales Evening Post
Edward Thomas, Carmarthen Journal


Emma Goodfellow, Packet Newspapers


Glenn Ebrey, News Shopper
Richard Gladstone, Hastings & St. Leonards Observer
Alexander Hamilton, Aldershot News
Jolene Hill, Reading Chronicle
Nicola Hudson, Aldershot News
Andrew Milford, Aldershot News
Daniel Sanderson, Worthing Herald


Marissa Carruthers, Northumberland Gazette
Ellie Hargreaves, Westmorland Gazette
James Johnston, Middlesbrough Evening Gazette
Christina Lloyd, Epworth Bells
Ruth Lythe, Westmorland Gazette
Gary Martin, Hartlepool Mail
Lisa Nightingale, Shields Gazette
Emma Rees, Lynn News
Peter Tennick, Hartlepool Mail
Amy Wilson, Scarborough Evening News
Lyndsey Wright, Hexham Courant


Lois Bishop, Chorley Guardian
Jemma Dobson, Lancashire Evening Telegraph
Dale Haslam, Hull Daily Mail
Alexis Price, Macclesfield Express Advertiser
Lynsey Roberts, Messenger Newspapers
Robin Stocks, Blackpool Gazette


Ellen Branagh, Redditch Advertiser
Christopher Buratta, Oxford Mail
Lindsay Holder, Malvern Gazette
Tom Shepherd, Wiltshire & Gloucester Standard
Charlotte Spratt, The Citizen, Gloucester


Hannah Benjamin, Ilford Recorder
Charles Chute, North West London Newspapers
James Connell, Slough Observer
Jacqueline Dolan, Bedfordshire Newspapers
Alexander Melvin, Harrow Times
Emily Parsons, Essex Chronicle


Michelle Archard, Brentwood Gazette
Simon Barrett, Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Sarah Crawley-Boevey, Maidenhead Advertiser
Nicola Fenn, Evening Echo Newspapers, Basildon
Ryan Goad, Thurrock Gazette
Ruth Holmes, St Albans Observer
Laura Johnston, Cambridge Evening News
Kelly-Ann Kiernan, Welwyn & Hatfield Times
Sarah Larch, Newbury Weekly News
Simon Lyle, Newbury Weekly News
Elaine Maslin, Bury Free Press
Alexandra Mott, Cambridge Evening News
Kala Paul-Worika, Freelance
Victoria Vaughan, Maidenhead Advertiser
Donna Veasey, Braintree & Witham Times
Matthew Ward, Bury Free Press


Mark Casci, Telegraph & Argus
Thomas Hay, Wetherby News
Benjamin Holt, Halifax Evening Courier
Jonathan Howell, Hull Daily Mail
Claire Metcalfe, Gazette & Herald
Saima Mir, Telegraph & Argus
Tom Stirling, The Press, York
Jennifer Sugden, Telegraph & Argus
Emma Wall, Ross Parry Press Agency


Anika Bourley, Northants Evening Telegraph
Alexander Brown, Northants Evening Telegraph
Emma Cousins, Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Elizabeth Crowson, Leicester Mercury
Joanne Hall, Grantham Journal
Richard Long, Lincolnshire Free Press
Daniel Orr, Grantham Journal
Melissa Shaw, Mansfield Chad
Leanne Simons, Grantham Journal
Joseph Watts, Nottingham Evening Post


Harri Aston, The Sentinel
Gina Bebbington, Northwich Guardian
Susan Carr, Tameside Advertiser
Tony Kirby, Wigan Evening Post
Nick Lakeman, Widnes & Runcorn World
Barry McCarthy, North West Evening Mail
Andrew Morrison, Crewe Guardian
Benjamin Parsons, North West Evening Mail
Lisa Woodhouse, Stockport Express Advertiser

LONDON (noSWeat)

Dominic Bowers, Chelmsford Weekly News
Anna Brett, Braintree & Witham Times
Emily Hassall, Watford Observer
John Hill, Hastings & St. Leonards Observer
John Hyde, Colchester Evening Gazette
Paul Leat, Bucks Free Press
Siobhan Lismore, South London Guardian
Philip Skelton, Woking News & Mail
James Tanfield, Harlow Star
James Tout, Herts & Essex Observer
Jenna Towler, Bucks Free Press


Gemma Briggs, North London Newspapers
Andrew Chiles, The Argus
Alexandra Galbinski, Hendon Times Group
Estelle Marais, Richmond & Twickenham Times
Margaret McDonnell, Newbury Weekly News
Rosalind Miles, Oxford Mail
Stephen Moore, Hornsey Journal
Sarah Radford, Newbury Weekly News
Peter Stebbings, Hendon Times Group
Philip Vinter, Oxford Mail


Melissa Beck, Derby Evening Telegraph
Daniel Evans, Grimsby Telegraph
Daniel Hodges, Nottingham Evening Post
David Marley, Nottingham Evening Post
James Newall, Lincolnshire Echo
Roberto Rodriguez, Freelance
Anna Temple, Lincolnshire Echo


Ewan Fergus, Greenock Telegraph
Margaret Millar-Deas, East Fife Mail
Helen Paterson, Midlothian Advertiser
Laura Sturrock, Milngavie & Bearsden Herald


Michael Beardmore, Central Independent Newspapers
Joshua Layton, Leamington Spa Courier
Carl Roache, Lichfield Mercury
Andrew Wragg, Central Independent Newspapers