AddThis SmartLayers

Yorkshire Post named North East Daily Newspaper of the Year

The Yorkshire Post was yesterday named Daily Newspaper of the Year in the BT North East Press and Broadcast Awards.

The Wakefield Express won the Weekly Newspaper of the Year title in a ceremony at York racecourse.

HoldTheFrontPage will publish pictures and the judges comments later today.

Below is the full list of winners and runners-up:

Business Journalist of the Year:
Jim Simpson – Yorkshire Post

Len Tingle – BBC Television Leeds

Sports Journalist of the Year:
Jeremy Robinson – Sunday Sun

Duncan Madsen – Newcastle Evening Chronicle
Alan Oliver – Newcastle Evening Chronicle

News Photographer of the Year:
Mike Tipping – York Evening Press

Frank Dwyer – York Evening Press
Dennis Lound – Sheffield Newspapers

Feature Writer of the Year:
Tim Power – Yorkshire Evening Post

Mike Amos – Northern Echo
Angela Upex – The Journal

Radio News Broadcaster of the Year:
Andrew Edwards – BBC Radio Leeds

Colin Briggs – BBC Radio Newcastle
Sarah Hughes – BBC Radio York

Television News Broadcaster of the Year:
Alan Whitehouse – BBC North Leeds

Harry Gration – BBC North Leeds
David Morrison – BBC North East

Weekly News Journalist of the Year:
Roger Woodcock – Newcastle Herald & Post

Deborah Pearson – Newcastle Herald & Post
Steve Petch – Driffield Times & Post

Daily News Journalist of the Year:
Karen Smith – Northern Echo

David Bruce – Yorkshire Evening Post
Barry Nelson – Northern Echo
Angela Upex – The Journal

Newcomer of the Year:
Chris Bucktin – Hull Daily Mail

Sarah Crabtree – Sheffield Star
Georgina Dickinson – Sunday Sun

News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year:
BBC Look North, Leeds

Close Up North – BBC North Leeds
BBC Radio York

Weekly Newspaper of the Year:
Wakefield Express

Sheffield Telegraph
Berwick Advertiser

Daily Newspaper of the Year:
Yorkshire Post

Yorkshire Evening Post
Sunday Sun

Website Publication of the Year:
Everest Online – BBC North East and Cumbria

Sunday Sun Online
thisisyork – Newsquest York

Do you have a story for us?
Ring the HoldTheFrontPage newsdesk on
01332 291111 x6022, or e-mail us now