AddThis SmartLayers

Regional snappers hoping to be a picture of success

Nominations for this year’s Picture Editors’ Awards have been announced, with freelances and staffers from regional newspapers featuring heavily once again.

Photographers from the Yorkshire Post, Oxford Mail and Oxford Times, Liverpool Daily Post & Echo, The Herald, Sunday Herald, Western Mail, Southern Reporter, Western Gazette and Reading Chronicle have all made the shortlist.

Amongst those are Simon Hulme from the Yorkshire Post and Yuri Anderegg from the Oxford Mail and Oxford Times, who will be hoping to repeat their award-winning success of last year when they scooped Regional Photographer of the Year and Black and White Photographer of the Year respectively.

All the winners will be announced during a ceremony at the Guildhall in London on Thursday March 23.

A full list of nominees is below, and all the nominated images can be found at

Prizes will also be given out for Newspaper of the Year, Regional Newspaper of the Year and Newspaper Magazine of the Year.

Judges will be looking for an enthusiasm for good photography both in how it is taken and how it is displayed, and the deadline for entries has been extended to March 3.

BG Group Photographer of the Year
Matt Dunham, Associated Press
Bryan O’Brien, The Irish Times
Richard Pohle, The Times
Lewis Whyld, South West News Service

Getty Images Regional Newspapers Photographer of the Year
Neil Bennett, Freelance / Sunday Herald and Western Mail
Simon Hulme, Yorkshire Post
Colin Lane, Liverpool Daily Post & Echo
Garry McHarg, Freelance / Daily Record

Fujifilm Photographer of the Year – Local Newspapers
Angus Blackburn, Southern Reporter
Ed Godden, Reading Chronicle
Len Copland, Western Gazette
Paul Mohan, Drogheda Independent

Getty Images Photo Essay Award
Angela Catlin, The Herald (Glasgow)
Kenneth O’Halloran, Irish Independent
Andrew Parsons, Press Association
Hazel Thompson, Freelance

BG Group Sports Photographer of the Year
Andy Hooper, Daily Mail
Tom Jenkins, The Guardian
Phil Noble, Press Association
Bradley Ormesher, Daily Mirror

Diageo Young Photographer of the Year
Gareth Cattermole, Getty Images
Julian Finney, Getty Images
Clara Molden, Freelance / The Times
Benjamin Stansall, Freelance

BG Group News Photographer of the Year
Gerard Binks, Yorkshire Post
Peter Macdiarmid, Getty Images
Mark Runnacles, Scottish Daily Record
Edmond Terakopian, Freelance

BG Group Portrait Photographer of the Year
Yuri Anderegg, Oxford Mail and Oxford Times
Dean Chalkley, Shoot
Colin Hattersley, Freelance / The Scotsman publications
Bruno Vincent, Getty Images

Fujifilm Royal Photographer of the Year
Christopher Jackson, Getty Images
Ian Jones, Freelance / Daily Telegraph
Richard Pohle, The Times
Karwai Tang, Alpha Press Agency