AddThis SmartLayers

Post & Echo man picks up Picture Editors' prize

Liverpool Daily Post & Echo photographer Colin Lane was among the winners at last night’s Picture Editors’ Awards.

The lensman picked up the prize for Regional Newspapers Photographer of the Year during a ceremony at the Guildhall in London.

His portfolio, which includes photographs of Wayne Rooney and Cherie Blair, beat entries from freelances and staffers from other regional titles, including last year’s winner, Simon Hulme of the Yorkshire Post.

Ed Godden from the Reading Chronicle was crowned Photographer of the Year – Local Newspapers, and The Sunday Herald was voted Newspaper of the Year for the second time.

Other winners on the night included Bryan O’Brien of The Irish Times, who was named overall Photographer of the Year.

The ceremony was presented by former Lib Dem leader Charles Kennedy. A full list of winners is below.

The awards are now in their 13th year. All the winners are chosen by a ballot of picture editors across the British Isles.

All the winners’ photographs can be seen on and for the first time, all images submitted to the 2006 Awards will appear on site.

The 2006 winners are:

BG Group Photographer of the Year
Bryan O’Brien, The Irish Times

Special Awards
Matt Dunham, Associated Press
Richard Pohle, The Times
Lewis Whyld, South West News Service

Getty Images Regional Newspapers Photographer of the Year
Colin Lane, Liverpool Daily Post & Echo

Special Awards
Neil Bennett, Freelance / Sunday Herald and Western Mail
Simon Hulme, Yorkshire Post
Garry McHarg, Freelance / Daily Record

Fujifilm Photographer of the Year – Local Newspapers
Ed Godden, Reading Chronicle

Special Awards
Len Copland, Western Gazette
Paul Mohan, Drogheda Independent

Getty Images Photo Essay Award
Andrew Parsons, Press Association

Special Awards
Angela Catlin, The Herald (Glasgow)
Kenneth O’Halloran, Irish Independent
Hazel Thompson, Freelance

BG Group Sports Photographer of the Year
Phil Noble, Press Association

Special Awards
Andy Hooper, Daily Mail
Tom Jenkins, The Guardian
Bradley Ormesher, Daily Mirror

Diageo Young Photographer of the Year
Ben Stansall, Freelance / Kent News

Special Awards
Gareth Cattermole, Getty Images
Julian Finney, Getty Images
Clara Molden, Freelance / The Times

BG Group News Photographer of the Year
Peter Macdiarmid, Getty Images

Special Awards
Gerard Binks, Yorkshire Post
Mark Runnacles, Scottish Daily Record
Edmond Terakopian, Freelance / Press Association

BG Group Portrait Photographer of the Year
Dean Chalkley, Shoot

Special Awards
Yuri Anderegg, Oxford Mail and Oxford Times
Colin Hattersley, Freelance / The Scotsman publications
Bruno Vincent, Getty Images

Fujifilm Royal Photographer of the Year
Karwai Tang, Alpha Press Agency

Special Awards
Christopher Jackson, Getty Images
Ian Jones, Freelance / Daily Telegraph
Richard Pohle, The Times

Getty Images Newspaper of the Year
The Herald, Glasgow