AddThis SmartLayers

Northern media talent recognised at annual awards

The cream of the north of England’s media industry has been recognised in the annual Yorkshire Bank Northern Journalist of the Year Awards.

And this year the categories were broadened beyond business journalism to include news and features.

The event received the highest ever entries since the bank’s six-year association with the awards scheme which saw the Newcastle Journal crowned Newspaper of the Year.

Individual winners were presented with £1,000 cash, trophies and certificates from ceremony host and former Director General of the BBC Greg Dyke.

The judging panel included Mike Ward, head of journalism at the University of Central Lancashire, Bob Lefroy, editor of Business and Money magazine and Maggie Pavlou, president of the North East Chamber of Commerce.

Barry Gardner, head of external affairs for Yorkshire Bank, said: “We are proud to again support such a strong celebration of media excellence. The doubling of award entries and the exceptionally high standard are testament to the quality of journalism across the north.”

The full list of award winners is:

Newspaper of the Year
Newcastle Journal

Business Media Team of the Year
North West Business Insider

Business Journalist of the Year
Michael Taylor

Print Journalist of the Year
Sophie Hazan, Yorkshire Evening Post

Feature Writer of the Year
Andrew McFarlane, Bolton News

Broadcast Journalist of the Year
Alistair Jackson, BBC TV Nottingham

Young Journalist of the Year
Tessa Chapman, ITV Granada

Campaign of the Year
Sally Henfield, Lancashire Telegraph