AddThis SmartLayers

Johnston Press holds first-ever Northern Ireland press awards

A range of prizes for local newspaper journalists were up for grabs at the inaugural Johnston Press Northern Ireland Division Awards.

The ceremony, held in Ballymena, recognised the best in the company’s titles throughout Northern Ireland.

Among the major winners were the Belfast-published News Letter and the Derry Journal – joint winners of Newspaper of the Year.

Here are the editorial prize winners:

Journalist of the Year
Winner – Nevin Farrell, Ballymoney Times

Newspaper of the Year
Winner – News Letter, Derry Journal
Highly Commended – Lurgan Mail, Coleraine Times

News Story of the Year
Winner – Coleraine Times

Best Feature
Winner – Ballymena Time
Highly Commended – Mid Ulster Mail, Lurgan Mail, Ulster Star

Best Community Initiative
Winner – Derry Journal
Highly Commended – Coleraine Times

Trainee Journalist of the Year
Winner – Chris Kilpatrick, Ballymoney Times
Highly Commended – Jonathen Bell, Lurgan Mail

Sports Reporter of the Year
Winner – Patrick van Dort, Portadown Times
Highly Commended – Stephen Alexander, Ballymena Times

Picture of the Year
Winner features – Samuel McMullan, Ballymoney Times
Winner news – Bernadette Brown, News Letter

Best Multimedia Campaign
Winner – Ulster Star
Highly Commended – Ballymena Times

Best In Paper Supplement
Winner – News Letter
Highly Commended – Lurgan Mail, New Initiatives Team

Best Niche Publication
Winner – Farming Life, Derry Journal

Digital Centre of the Year
Winner – News Letter

Special Editorial Award
Winner – Billy Kennedy, News Letter