AddThis SmartLayers

Yorkshire Press Awards 2000

More than 20 journalists will be honoured in the Yorkshire Press Awards 2000 – which will be presented on Monday (November 27).

And HoldtheFrontPage will bring you all the winners on this site as soon as the lunchtime ceremony finishes at the Cedar Court Hotel, Wakefield.

Prize money of more than £3,000 will be handed out in the competition, which is organised by the promotions department of Sheffield Newspapers Ltd. and sponsored this year by the Kelda Group.

Each category winner will receive a trophy and £150 and runners-up receive a certificate and £50.

Awards up for grabs include News Reporter of the Year, News Feature Writer of the Year and General Feature Writer of the Year – with separate categories for daily and weekly journalists. There are also awards for Columnist of the Year, Photographer of the Year, Sports Writer of the Year and Community Reporter of the Year.

David Edmondson, managing director of Sheffield Newspapers Ltd., praised the high standard of this year’s entries which have come from papers including the Yorkshire Evening Post, Hull Daily Mail, York Evening Press, Sheffield Star, Huddersfield Daily Examiner, Doncaster Free Press, Bradford Telegraph & Argus, Barnsley Chronicle, Wetherby News, Rotherham Star, Morley Observer, Birstall News, Dewsbury Reporter and Ackrill Newspapers.

Back to the awards index

Have you won an award? We’d love to hear from you.
E-mail us now for more details.