AddThis SmartLayers

Scottish Press Awards shortlist announced

The Scottish Daily Newspaper Society has announced the shortlist for this year’s Scottish Press Awards.

Staff from the Edinburgh Evening News, The Scotsman, Evening Express, The Herald and Evening Times in Glasgow, the Shetland Times and Dumfries & Galloway Standard are among those to have made the cut. They will battle it out for the top prizes next month.

The competition is open to all journalists and photographers working for newspapers and magazines published in Scotland, and Scottish based journalists and photographers writing exclusively on Scottish affairs.

Winners will be announced during a ceremony at the Glasgow Radisson SAS Hotel on Thursday, April 19.

The full shortlist is below:

Scoop of the Year

Gail Cameron, The Scottish Sun – Pregnant Aged 11
Jane Hamilton, Sunday Mail – Derek Alexander Doran
Cara Page, Daily Record – Alan McIllwraith
Alan Roden, Edinburgh Evening News – A Jack The Lad
Natalie Walker, Daily Record – Lisa Norris

Reporter of the Year

Gail Cameron, The Scottish Sun
David Leask, Evening Times
Neil Mackay, Sunday Herald
Cara Page, Daily Record
Natalie Walker, Daily Record

Financial / Business Writer of the year

Simon Bain, The Herald
Lesley Campbell, Daily Record
Martin Flanagan, The Scotsman
John Penman, The Sunday Times Scotland
Ken Symon, Sunday Herald

Feature Writer of the Year

Lucy Adams, The Herald
Catherine Deveney, Scotland on Sunday – Spectrum Magazine
Neil Mackay, Sunday Herald
Lorna Martin, The Observer
Peter Ross, Sunday Herald
Michael Tierney, The Herald

Columnist of the Year

Ian Bell, Sunday Herald
Gillian Bowditch, The Sunday Times Scotland
Moira Gordon, Scotland on Sunday
Melanie Reid, The Herald
Tom Shields, Sunday Herald

Campaign of the Year

Airdrie & Coatbridge Advertiser – Monklands Hospital
Edinburgh Evening News – Queens Hall Closure
Evening Times – Crime on Your Street
News of the World – Mark’s Law
Shetland Times – Free Sakachai
The Scotsman – Forth Crossing Plans

Front Page of the Year

Daily Record – Tommy Drops His Briefs
Evening Times – Gangs
News of the World – Sheridan Confesses
Scottish Daily Mail – My Torment, By Angela Donald
Sunday Herald – Remember
The Scottish Sun – Punch Drunk

Journalist Team of the Year

Daily Record – Farepak
Daily Record – Kriss Donald
Evening Express – Dean Jamieson
News of the World – Tommy Sheridan
Scottish Daily Mail – Kriss Donald

Weekly Newspaper Journalist of the Year

Jill Buchanan, Falkirk Herald
John Hutcheson, Airdrie & Coatbridge Advertiser
Joseph O’Brien, Wishaw Press
Craig Robertson, Dumfries & Galloway Standard
Fay Winter, Wishaw Press

Political Journalist of the Year

Eddie Barnes, Scotland on Sunday
Campbell Gunn, The Sunday Post
Paul Hutcheon, Sunday Herald
Stuart Nicolson, Scottish Daily Mail
Mandy Rhodes, Holyrood Magazine

Sports Feature Writer of the Year

Douglas Alexander, The Sunday Times Scotland
Tom English, Scotland on Sunday
Bill Leckie, The Scottish Sun
Gordon Waddell, Sunday Mail
Richard Wilson, The Sunday Times Scotland

Sports News Writer of the Year

Chris Fitzgerald, Greenock Telegraph
John Greechan, Scottish Daily Mail
Keith Jackson, Daily Record
Iain King, The Scottish Sun
Natasha Woods, Sunday Herald

Arts / Entertainment Writer of the Year

Catherine Deveney, Scotland on Sunday – Spectrum Magazine
Teddy Jamieson, The Herald
Phil Miller, The Herald
David Robinson, The Scotsman
Susan Swarbrick, The Herald

Cartoonist of the Year

Brian Adcock, Scotland on Sunday
Steven Camley, The Herald
Harry Horse, Sunday Herald
Ranald MacColl, Scottish Daily Mirror
Bill McArthur, The Herald

Young Journalist of the Year

Steve Dinneen, Sunday Mail
Mark McLaughlin, Freelance
Peter John Meiklem, The Big Issue in Scotland
Rachelle Money, Freelance
Fay Winter, Wishaw Press
Alice Wyllie, The Scotsman

Gaelic Journalist of the Year

Aonghas Padraig Caimbeul, An Gaidheal Ur
Alasdair H Campbell, The Scotsman
Alison Lang, The Scotsman
Ruairidh MacIlleathain, Cothram
Raghnall MacilleDhuibh, The Scotsman

News Photographer of the Year

Derek Blair, Daily Record
Phil Dye, Daily Record
Danny Lawson, Scottish Press Association
Tony Nicoletti, Daily Record
Mark Runnacles, Daily Record
Ian Rutherford, The Scotsman

Sports Photographer of the Year

Tom Main, Freelance
Henry McInnes, Sunday Mail
Colin Mearns, The Herald
Kenny Ramsay, The Scottish Sun
Ian Rutherford, The Scotsman