AddThis SmartLayers

Regional Press Awards shortlist announced

Judging is now under way to select the winners of the Press Gazette’s Regional Press Awards 2001.

ITN political editor John Sergeant will present the winners, whittled from an entry of more than 700, with their awards at the Hilton Hotel on Friday July 6.

The shortlist is:

Website of the Year: Thisisbradford; totallyjewish; EDP24; Shropshirestar; businessam; Thisishullsport.

Specialist Reporter of the Year: Andy Greenwood, Western Morning News (environment); Lisa Baxter, Evening Star, Ipswich (crime); Vicki Shaw, Yorkshire Evening Post (health); Michael Howard, The Sentinel, Stoke on Trent (city council); Louise Douglas, Liverpool Daily Post & Echo (health); James Ruddy, Eastern Daily Press (foreign).

Business Reporter of the Year: Bill Gleeson, Liverpool Daily Post; Stephen Houghton, The Sentinel, Stoke on Trent; Jane Charnley, Yorkshire Post; Peter Jeffrey, Evening Chronicle, Newcastle; Jason Clark, Western Morning News; Emma Corlett, Manchester Evening News.

Financial Reporter of the Year: Jane Hall, Newcastle Journal; Ros Snowdon, Yorkshire Post; Peter Sharples, Manchester Evening News; James Stinson, Irish News; Harry Day, Eastern Daily Press; Joanne Gill, Yorkshire Post.

Young Journalist of the Year: Bryony Jones, The News, Portsmouth; Nick Ahad, Swindon Evening Advertiser; Martin Breen, Belfast Telegraph; Kate Mills, Northampton Chronicle & Echo; David Stringer, Derby Evening Telegraph; Sally Hall, The Argus, Brighton.

Sports Reporter of the Year: John Gibson, Evening Chronicle, Newcastle; Alan Davidson, Glasgow Evening Times; Matthew Reeder, Swindon Evening Advertiser; Phil Rostron, Yorkshire Evening Post; Mark Storey, The News, Portsmouth; Martin Smith, Sheffield Star.

Scoop of the Year: Steve Lowe, Bedfordshire on Sunday, Death Room; Mike Hill, Liverpool Echo, Body Parts Scandal; David Winning, Eastern Daily Press, Tony Martin’s Torment; Don Hale, Matlock Mercury, Bakewell Murder Investigation; Allan Caldwell, Evening Times, MP’s Daughter Sold Drugs; Paul Jeeves, Northampton Chronicle & Echo, £8m Bill for Refugees.

Reporter of the Year: Phil Mills, Evening Argus, Brighton; Dave Blackhurst, Staffordshire Sentinel; Lisa Mundy, The Yellow Advertiser; Jon Lockett, Bristol Evening Post; Claire Graham, Derby Evening Telegraph; Ian Drury, Nottingham Evening Post.

Columnist of the Year: Martin Freeman, Evening Herald, Plymouth; Norman Harper, Press and Journal, Aberdeen; Anne Pickles, Yorkshire Evening Post; Peter Bossley, Sentinel Sunday, Stoke on Trent; Robert Mills, Yorkshire Post; Gail Walker, Belfast Telegraph.

Feature Writer of the Year: Chris Maguire, Bristol Evening Post; Sarah Hughes, Manchester Evening News; Carmen Lichi, Hampstead & Highgate Express; Angela Wintle, The Argus, Brighton; Jon Rhodes, Yorkshire Evening Post; Madeleine Brindley, Nottingham Evening Post.

Weekly Newspaper of the Year: South London Press; The Cumberland News; Shrewsbury Chronicle; Cornish Guardian, Wiltshire Times, Somerset County Gazette.

Free Newspaper of the Year: London Metro; London Jewish News; Camden New Journal; The Wharf; Milton Keynes Citizen; Bedfordshire on Sunday.

Daily/Sunday Newspaper of the Year: The Western Mail; Irish News; Western Morning News; Sunday Life; Business a.m.; Sentinel Sunday, Stoke on Trent.

Evening Newspaper of the Year: Bristol Evening Post; Yorkshire Evening Post; South Wales Argus; Jersey Evening Post; Sheffield Star; Manchester Evening News.

Newspaper Society Front Page of the Year: Derby Evening Telegraph, Post It; Bedfordshire on Sunday, Death Room; Grimsby Evening Telegraph, Twister; Walton, Weybridge & Hersham Herald, Sarah Payne’s Parents; Western Morning News, Foot and Mouth; South Wales Argus, Axed.

Photographer of the Year: Adrian White, South Wales Argus; Simon Hulme, Yorkshire Post; Stuart Boulton, The Northern Echo; Dave Betts, Bristol Evening Post; Mark Bickerdike, Yorkshire Evening Post; Richard Doughty, The Northern Echo.

Sports Photographer of the Year: Tim Harley-Easthope, Birmingham Evening Mail; Ann McManus, Irish News; Sarah Nicholson, The Northern Echo; Steve Ellis, Sheffield Star; Charles Breton, Bristol Evening Post; Sam Bagnall, Sunday Mercury.

Production Team of the Year: Sentinel Sunday, Stoke on Trent; Evening Press, York, Floods Supp-lement; Business a.m.; Leicester Mercury, Leicestershire at War; Shropshire Star; Bournemouth Daily Echo, Weekend Magazine.

Campaign of the Year: Liverpool Echo, “Stop the Rot”; Matlock Mercury, “Free Stephen Downing”; Reading Evening Post, “Save a Failing School”; Yorkshire Post, “A Sporting Chance”; Belfast Telegraph, “Forgotten RUC Widows”; Grimsby Evening Telegraph, “Pay the Fishermen”.

Online Reporter of the Year: Melanie Henderson, Business a.m.; Zeddy Lawrence,; David Wardale,; David Behrens, Telegraph & Argus, Bradford.

Back to the awards index

Have you won an award? We’d love to hear from you.
E-mail us now for more details.