AddThis SmartLayers

Nominations announced for Scottish Press Awards

The Edinburgh Evening News, Scotsman, Falkirk Herald and The Herald and Evening Times in Glasgow could be among the winners at the Scottish Press Awards later this month.

Journalists and photographers from the titles, together with those from a number of other regional and national newspapers in Scotland, are among those nominated for an award at the highly-regarded event.

This year the awards attracted 392 entries, the higgest number in the competition’s 24-year history.

There are 18 titles up for grabs, including Reporter of the Year, Feature Writer of the Year and Scoop of the Year, and all the winners will be announced during a ceremony at Glasgow’s Hilton Hotel on May 22.

The full list of nominations is:

Sports Photographer of the Year
Andrew Barr, Scottish Sun
Angus Blackburn, The Southern Reporter
Colin Mearns, The Herald
Ian Rutherford, The Scotsman

News Photographer of the Year
Andrew Barr, Scottish Sun
Angus Blackburn, Southern Reporter
Henry McInnes, Sunday Mail
Colin Mearns, The Sunday Herald

Gaelic Journalist of the Year
Angus Peter Campbell, The Scotsman
Alex O’Henley, The West Highland Free Press
Carol Zall, The Scotsman/An Gaidheal Ur

The David Boyle (Erskine Hospital) Memorial Award
Kate Foster, Daily Mail
Ann Fotheringham, Evening Times
Camillo Fracassini, Scotland on Sunday
Sarah-Kate Templeton, The Sunday Herald

Young Journalist of the Year
Eleanor Cowie, Sunday Times
Gerry Duffy, Scottish Sun
Jennifer Johnston, The Sunday Herald
Caroline Waterston, Sunday Mail

Cartoonist of the Year
Frank Boyle, Edinburgh Evening News
Steven Camley, The Herald
Martin Rowson, Scotland on Sunday

Arts/Entertainment Writer of the Year
Ajay Close, The Scotsman
Catherine Deveney, Scotland on Sunday
Duncan MacMillan, The Scotsman
Peter Ross, The Sunday herald

Sports Journalist of the Year
Doug Gillon, The Herald
Bill Leckie, The Sun
Tom Lappin, The Scotsman
Keith Jackson, Daily Record
Richard Wilson, Sunday Times

Political Journalist of the Year
Jason Allardyce, Scotland on Sunday
Hamish MacDonnell, The Scotsman
Andrew Nicoll, Scottish Sun

Weekly Newspaper Journalist of the Year
Jill Buchanan, Falkirk Herald
Allan Hendry, John O’Groats Journal
John Nairn, The Lennox Herald

Journalist Team of the Year
Daily Record
Mail on Sunday
Scotland on Sunday
Scottish Sun

Front Page of the Year
Cradle to Grave, Daily Mail
Blackout, Daily Mirror
Yes, Evening Times
Twin Towers, The Herald

Campaign of the Year
Justice, Daily Mail
Betrayed, Daily Record
Parking Tickets, Edinburgh Evening News
Retroperitoneal, Sunday Post

Columnist of the Year
Gillian Bowditch, Sunday Times
John MacLeod, Daily Mail
Ian MacWhirter, The Herald
Melanie Reid, The Herald
Tom Shields, Sunday Herald

Feature Writer of the Year
Allan Brown, Sunday Times
Catherine Deveney, Scotland on Sunday
Lorna Martin, The Herald Magazine
William McIlvanney, Scotland on Sunday
Michael Tierney, The Herald Magazine

Financial/Business Writer of the Year
Valerie Darroch, The Sunday Herald
Kenny Kemp, The Sunday Herald
Ian McConnell, The Herald
Alf Young, The Herald

Reporter of the Year
Carlos Alba, Sunday Times
David Goodwin, Scottish Sun
Patricia Kane, Daily Mail
Steve Smith, Daily Record

Daily Newspaper Scoop of the Year
Richard Gray, Daily Mirror
Mark Howarth, Scottish Sun
Matthew Knowles, Mail on Sunday
Brian Lironi, Sunday Mail

Back to the awards index

Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.
E-mail [email protected]