AddThis SmartLayers

National winners announced

The national winners of this year’s BT Regional Media Awards have been announced.

The 14 winners were chosen from 86 newspapers, journalists, broadcasters and photographers who all won awards during seven regional heats.

All those who scooped national accolades will collect their awards during a special VIP presentation luncheon at the top of the BT Tower in London on June 14.

The full list of national winners is:

Daily Newspaper of the Year:
Sunday Herald

Weekly Newspaper of the Year:
The Northern Scot

Daily News Journalist of the Year:
Martin Shipton, Wales on Sunday

Weekly News Journalist of the Year:
Nicola Smith, Derbyshire Times

Feature Writer of the Year:
Michael Tierney, The Herald

BT/Society of Editors Newcomer of the Year:
David Leask, Evening Express, Aberdeen (now Evening Times, Glasgow)

Business/E-Commerce Journalist of the Year:
Ian McConnell, The Herald

Sports Journalist of the Year:
Carolyn Hitt, The Western Mail

News Photographer of the Year:
Ann McManus, Irish News

News Broadcaster of the Year:
John Cundy, BBC Television, Leeds

News/Current Affairs Programme of the Year:
The Secret Lives of William Beggs, Frontline Scotland, BBC Scotland

Award for Technical Innovation:
Jo Hollis, BBC Leicester Online

BTopenworld Internet Journalist of the Year:
Iain S. Bruce, Sunday Herald

BTopenworld Website Publication of the Year:, BBC South Yorkshire

For more details about the awards visit:

Back to the awards index

Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.
E-mail [email protected]