AddThis SmartLayers

Judging line-up announced for EDF Energy South West Media Awards

With the closing date for entries to the EDF Energy South West Media Awards only days away, the line-up of judges for the contest has been confirmed.

Entries need to be in by the end of this week for the competition, which is being run in association with HoldtheFrontPage.

The application form can be downloaded and printed out from here. It also contains some guidelines to help you enter.

Weekly newspaper boss Tim Robinson, former editor and journalism lecturer Gerry Kreibich, photographer Doug Marke, Sentinel editor Sean Dooley, and Kate Squire, managing editor at BBC Radio Leicester, will decide the winners.

They will be casting an expert eye over the broadcast and press competition entries in 17 different categories.

  • Gerry Kreibich was formerly the lecturer in charge of journalism courses at Sheffield’s Richmond College (later Stradbroke College) for more than ten years. He was previously editor of the Matlock Mercury, and has worked on a range of other titles.
  • Doug Marke is the founding photographer of Nottingham-based agency Page One, and is one of the most widely published photographers in the UK. Canadian born, Doug has been producing feature lead editorial and corporate photography for more than 15 years. He began his UK career on local newspapers in the South West, including the Western Gazette.
  • Kate Squire is best known as a former presenter of TV’s East Midlands Today, but has a wide background in broadcasting. She organised regional news coverage at the Barcelona Olympics, has worked for BBC Breakfast News, and earned her stripes early on in her career on Radio 4’s Today programme and the World Service.
  • Staffordshire Sentinel Newspapers editor-in-chief Sean Dooley has picked up a string of awards for his titles recently, with Sentinel Sunday being named Newspaper of the Year at the Midlands Media Awards last month. The same team was crowned the best in Europe for its design work on the weekly broadsheet, and The Sentinel was West Midlands Newspaper of the Year and also won the Sunday/Daily Newspaper of the Year award at the Press Gazette awards.
  • Tim Robinson is managing editor of Lincolnshire Newspapers, a group of six paid-for weekly titles which cover market towns and seaside resorts across the county. Tim is a former editor of the Rutland and Stamford Mercury (Britain’s oldest newspaper) and former editor of the Market Harborough and Lutterworth Mail.
  • Sponsors EDF Energy are also set to name a judge to take part on decision day, which will be Monday, May 16.

    The awards cover newspapers and broadcasters in Cornwall, Devon, Somerset, Bristol, Bath, Wiltshire and Gloucestershire and the presentation event will also raise money for the Newspaper Press Fund, which benefits journalists and their dependents in times of personal difficulty.

    Entries must be received by 5pm on Friday, May 6, 2005. They should be sent to Patrick Astill, HoldtheFrontPage, NEP, Ground Floor, East Point, Cardinal Square, 10 Nottingham Road, Derby DE1 3QT.