AddThis SmartLayers

HoldtheFrontPage scoops top media award – again!

HoldtheFrontPage has been named Best Niche Internet Site (Commercial) for the second year running.

At the Newspaper Society Digital Media Awards ceremony in Manchester, which saw 21 nominees fight it out for nine prizes, the judges praised our consistency, commenting that the website continues to excel year after year.

It was a great result for the four biggest regional newspaper companies, Northcliffe, Newsquest, Johnston Press and Trinity Mirror, which jointly own HoldtheFrontPage.

Read more about us.

It was a night to remember for Northcliffe Electronic Publishing, which swept the board, winning a further four awards.

It was rewarded with three trophies for educational website and also produced the Best Niche Internet Site (Community) for the Beehive network.


  • Sally Parkin from the Beehive network
    with NEP’s haul of awards

    The full list of winners:

    Best Daily Newspaper Website:
    Eastern Daily Press – EDP24

    Best Weekly Newspaper Website:
    Hemel Gazette and Herald Expresss –

    Best Web Design:
    Headline History

    Best Online Community Service:
    Lancashire Evening Post,

    Best Promotion of an Online Service:
    Headline History and Manchesteronline (joint winners)

    Best Niche Internet Site (Commercial):

    Best Niche Internet Site (Community):
    Beehive network

    Best Digital Media Development:
    Headline History

    Best Use of Mobile Communications:
    Welwyn and Hatfield Times, Herts Advertiser, The Comet (Archant), for an SMS-based contest

    The event, which centered around a Masquerade Ball, also saw more than a dozen awards handed out in various advertising and marketing categories.

    Judges for the Digital Media sections included Tim Burrowes, editor of Media Week, Danny Meadows-Klue, chief executive of the Internet Advertising Bureau, Ian Campbell, head of information for business at the Press Association, and Mark Sinclair, managing partner at SMRS in Manchester.


    Back to the awards index

    Have you won a press award? We’d love to hear from you.
    E-mail [email protected]