AddThis SmartLayers

Journalists to vie for 18 awards after record breaking year

Christine WarwickJournalists will vie for 18 prizes after an annual media awards received a record number of entries.

The Wales Media Awards this year received more than 200 entries from journalists and news titles across Wales and the shortlist has now been announced.

The winners will be revealed during an awards dinner to be held at Cardiff’s Parkgate Hotel on the evening of Friday 10 November.

Once again the awards are being supported by the Journalists’ Charity, which helped revive them in 2015 after they had been in abeyance for several years.

The charity’s chair Christine Warwick, pictured, said: “The Journalists’ Charity is proud to be staging this year’s Wales Media Awards, celebrating the very best in Welsh journalism.

“I’m delighted to announce that this year we’ve received more than 200 entries – a record number.

“The calibre of entries is of a very high standard indeed – which will give the judges a very difficult job when it comes down to selecting the eventual winners.

“We look forward to an enjoyable evening of celebration in the company of colleagues and friends from across the industry and, of course, our loyal sponsors without whose support the awards would not be possible.”

The full shortlist is as follows:

Young Journalist of the Year
Hamish Auskerry
Gwennan Campbell
Jess Clayton
Jared Evitts
Katie Fenton
Indigo Jones
Ben Summer

Weekly Newspaper of the Year
Cambrian News
County Times
Mid Wales Journal
Western Telegraph

Video News Journalist of the Year
Andy Davies
Issa Farfour
Gwyn Loader
Tomos Morgan
Elen Wyn

Video News & Current Affairs Programme of the Year
BBC Wales Investigates: Welsh Rugby under the spotlight
Y Byd ar Bedwar: Llawdriniathau Colli Pwyse
Daeargryn Twrci a Syria
The Murder of Logan Mwangi
Wales This Week: The Hidden Loss

Video Camera Operator of the Year
Dai Baker
Luke Collinson
Lynsey Green
Tomos Lewis

Stills Photographer of the Year
Rob Browne
Joanne Randles

Sports Journalist of the Year
Paul Abbandonato
Tom Coleman
Jordan Davies
David Owens
Liz Perkins
Katie Sands
Chris Wathan

Specialist Journalist of the Year
Philip Dewey
Lucy John
Ffion Lewis
Hannah Thomas
Abbie Wightwick

Shoot/Edit Journalist of the Year
Tom Brown
Michael Burgess
Greg Davies
Mike Griffiths
Tomos Lewis

Political Journalist of the Year
Elliw Gwawr
Will Hayward
Rob Osborne
Emily Price

Online News Site of the Year
BBC Wales Online
Cymru Fyw
ITV Cymru Wales
Newyddion S4C
Wales Online

News Writer of the Year
Conor Gogarty
Will Hayward
Gwyn Loader
Tomos Morgan
Felix Nobes
Liz Perkins

Feature Writer/Columnist of the Year
Laura Clements
Tom Coleman
Will Hayward
Delyth Hughes
Sara Robinson
Ed Townsend

Student Journalist of the Year
Robert Burke
Daniel O’Callaghan
Cian Tookey
Brad Williams

Daily/Sunday Newspaper of the Year
South Wales Argus
South Wales Echo
Western Mail
Wrexham Leader

Community Journalism of the Year
Caerphilly Observer
Clonc 360
Cwmbran Life

Audio News Journalist of the Year
Gemma Dunstan
Tomos Morgan
Jenny Rees
Huw Thomas

Audio News and Current Affairs Programme of the Year
Drowned: Flooding of a Village
Cost of Living, Covid and Mental Health
Plant Wcrain
Transfer: Emiliano Sala Story