AddThis SmartLayers

Sports journalists urged to enter awards amid hopes for physical ceremony

Regional journalists are being encouraged to enter this year’s British Sports Journalism Awards amid hopes a physical ceremony may be able to take place.

Entries are now being welcomed for the annual scheme, which includes a specific Regional Sports Journalist category.

Neil Allen, of Portsmouth daily The News, is the title’s current holder, having won it two years on the trot.

The deadline for entries is midnight on 20 January 2021.

Neil Allen, left, receives his award

Neil Allen, left, receives his award

The Sports Journalists’ Association, which organises the awards, says the winners will provisionally be announced at a virtual ceremony taking place on Monday 15 March 2021.

Should circumstances change, the SJA says it may switch to a physical event.

More details can be found here.