AddThis SmartLayers

Journalists and students up for honours after record year for NCTJ

Regional journalists and journalism students are set to be honoured by the NCTJ after a record number of entries were submitted to its annual awards.

Some 57 students, trainees, apprentices, journalists and training providers have been shortlisted in the NCTJ Awards for Excellence 2019, which will be presented at a ceremony in Sunderland next month hosted by Sky Sports presenter David Jones.

A record-breaking 395 entries were received across 15 categories, in addition to the 1,416 students, trainees and apprentices eligible for three performance awards.

Submissions included 47 entries for the new Community News Project award, launched this year to recognise the exceptional work done by regional reporters employed under the Facebook-funded Community News Project.

The winners at last year's awards ceremony

The winners at last year’s awards ceremony

The full shortlist is as follows:

News Journalism (Student)
Nicola Driscoll-Davies, Brighton Journalist Works
Jack Dyson, NCTJ distance learning
Theofanis Pegkas, University of Sunderland

News Journalism (Trainee/Apprentice)
Rianna Croxford, BBC News
Conor Matchett, Edinburgh Evening News
Samuele Volpe, Ham and High

Sports Journalism (Student)
Jason Button, University of Sunderland
Dan Davis, Bournemouth University
Daniel Gallan, St Mary’s University
Ella Jerman, News Associates London

Sports Journalism (Trainee/Apprentice)
Jonathan Harding, Racing Post
Mitchell Waddon, West Ham United

Top Scoop (Student)
Gregory Kirby, PA Training
Ffion Lewis, Cardiff University
Brendan Marshall, Ulster University

Top Scoop (Trainee/Apprentice)
Will Jefford, Ipswich Star and East Anglian Daily Times
Lucy Jenkinson, Newsquest Cumbria
Conor Matchett, Edinburgh Evening News

Features (Student)
Jack Dyson, NCTJ distance learning
Mariam Khattab, University of Sunderland
Nick Winchester, Ulster University

Features (Trainee/Apprentice)
Anna Lewis, WalesOnline
Charlie Mitchell, The National
Aamir Mohammed, WalesOnline

Multimedia story/campaign (Student)
Olivia Lee, NCTJ distance learning
Giovanni Marini, Glasgow Caledonian University
Paula Ugochukwu, University of Sheffield

Multimedia story/campaign (Trainee/Apprentice)
Laura Longworth, Lancashire Post
Katie Smith, BBC Birmingham

Best student project
Mindful, Kingston University
On the Border of War and Peace, University of Kent
The Tracks to Recovery, Bournemouth University

Apprentice of the year award
Nathan Atkinson, Darlington College and Telegraph and Argus
Sam Dixon-French, Highbury College and West Sussex County Times
Yohannes Lowe, PA Training and The Telegraph
Maddy Morrison, PA Training and Sky Sports News
Imogen Tew, Highbury College and Isle of Wight County Press

Student of the year award, sponsored by Sunderland City Council
Charlotte Bentley, City of Wolverhampton College
Cormac Connelly-Smith, News Associates London
Molly Millar, News Associates Manchester
Jessica Murray, University of Sheffield
Jennifer Tombs, News Associates London

Trainee of the year award, sponsored by the Society of Editors
Amy Gibbons, East Anglian Daily Times
Rhoda Morrison, Bury Free Press
Tamara Siddiqui, The News, Portsmouth

Innovation of the year award
Ulster University
University of Kingston
University of Sheffield

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion award, sponsored by the Financial Times
Laura Garcia, University of Kent
The 50:50 Project, BBC

Community News Project award
Laura Andrew, Doncaster Free Press and The Star, Sheffield
Naomi de Souza, Coventry Live
Shona Elliott, Edinburgh Evening News
Darren Gibb, Fife Free Press
Sarah Hussain, Eastern Daily Press
Oliver Kemp, KentOnline
Elizabeth Roberts, Swindon Advertiser

The chairman’s award will be presented at the ceremony on 28 November.