AddThis SmartLayers

Seven new categories for Online Media Awards

A set of annual awards dedicated to digital media is open for entries.

The Online Media Awards, organised by media news and jobs website The Drum, take place at the Emirates Stadium on 12 June.

Prizes include best local regional news site – won last year by the Belfast Telegraph – and Best Use of Social Media, for which the South Wales Argus was highly commended in 2012.

The entry fee is £69 and entries open until 10 April.  More information is available from the awards website.

There are 24 categories in all including seven new categories.

These include digital team of the year, best smartphone or tablet app, best business/finance news site and best photographer.

The full list of categories is as follows:

Website of the Year (Grand Prix)
Chairman’s Award
Online Editor of the Year
Outstanding Digital Team of the Year
Digital Writer of the Year
Best Site for news-led Journalism
Best Specialist Site for Journalism
Best Local/Regional News Site
Best National News Site
Best Campaigning / Investigative Journalism
Best Commentary/Blogging
Best Video Journalism
Best Designed site
Best Twitter feed
Best Use of Social Media
Best Use of Crowd Sourcing or Citizen Journalism
Best Commercial Innovation
Best use of Photography
Technical Innovation
Best App (for Smart phone or tablet)
Best Freelance Writer
Best Photographer
Best Lifestyle / Leisure News Site
Best Business / Finance News Site
Best Health / Education News Site