AddThis SmartLayers

Entries open for Midlands Media Awards

Birmingham Press Club has launched its annual Midlands Media Awards for 2013 with two new digital categories.

The awards, now in their 12th year, include new prizes for Blogger of the Year and Best News Website.

Entries are now open for the awards which cover newspapers, magazines, websites, TV and radio across the East and West Midlands.

In a further nod to technology, journalists will be able to submit their entries online at a dedicated website although postal entries will still be accepted.

Heart FM radio presenter and Press Club chairman Ed James said:  “The media sector is a fast-moving and rapidly-changing industry and we have acknowledged that by paying due regard to the digital age.”

Birmingham Airport will again be main sponsor for the event, which will take place in June.

Added Ed: “Birmingham Airport has been a staunch supporter of Birmingham Press Club over many years and we are delighted to have again secured its backing for another year.

“The awards evening is the Press Club’s flagship event – and one that is eagerly-awaited by everyone, not just those in the media industry but by our many supporters as well.”

Paul Kehoe, chief executive of Birmingham Airport, said: “We’re delighted to be supporting this important Midlands media event for the seventh year.

“The awards programme has gone from strength to strength and gives the deserved recognition to talent that is so prevalent in our region within the dynamic world of 24 hour news.”

The deadline for entries to the awards is 22 March.  The shortlist of nominations will be announced on 13 May.

Full details on how to enter the awards are obtainable from Paula Kelsey on 0115 841 9699 or 07774 741883 or by e-mailing [email protected] as well as at the awards website

The full list of categories is:

Blogger of the Year (New)
Business Journalist of the Year
Campaign of the Year (New)
Columnist of the Year
Feature Writer of the Year
Headline of the Year
Journalist of the Year
Magazine or Supplement of the Year
Public Choice (New)
Newcomer Student of the Year
Newspaper of the Year
News Photographer of the Year
News Photos of the Year
News Reporter of the Year (Daily)
News Reporter of the Year (Weekly)
News Website of the Year
Radio Journalist of the Year
Scoop of the Year
Sports Journalist of the Year
Sports Photographer of the Year
Television Journalist of the Year